Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Local Area Network Question

  1. #1
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    Is it possible to set up a Local Area Network without connecting to the internet?

    By this I mean have let's say 3 computers in your house which all have wireless cards.

    Set up a wireless router (not plugged into the internet) and be able to set up a LAN?


    What I'm not sure of is will the wireless router assign IP addresses to the internal network if it doesn't have internet access?


    Also, will a wireless router broadcast a SSID (shows that you can connect to it) when it isn't connected to the internet?
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Simple answer... Yes.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    lee551's Avatar no soup for you! BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,867
    most definitely. networks can be set up regardless of internet connectivity.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    mbucari1's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,871
    Yeah, I've had LAN parties with some friends where we just all pulded into a HUB. I've also transfered files by directly connecting 2 computers with a Cat5.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    Cool! Thanks, that's a big help for my plan
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    mbucari1's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,871
    Quote Originally Posted by lightshow View Post
    Cool! Thanks, that's a big help for my plan
    Just make sure both computers are in the same workgroup. Default is WORKGROUP

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •