Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Dual boot w/ xp x86 and vista x64

  1. #1
    mbucari1's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,871
    Can I dual-boot w/ 32bit xp and 64bit vista? I tried to do it (having dual booted with xp 32 and vista 32 many times before) but vista keeps crashing on reboot to finish installation.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    memnom's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    201
    as far now, it is still an unresolved issue, the NTFS in both of the 64 Vista and 32XP are conflicting, besides whenever u boot Vista will give u the boot screen and as it is 64bit it fails to mount the other drives, thus resulting in a crash.

    MS will release a Patch for it or something, but google it for more answers.
    Last edited by memnom; 04-25-2007 at 07:33 AM.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    fstrulz's Avatar got milf? BT Rep: +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Langley, VA
    Posts
    2,369
    Yes you can... Just follow this steps from CNet's TechRepublic...

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    mbucari1's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,871
    Quote Originally Posted by fstrulz View Post
    Yes you can... Just follow this steps from CNet's TechRepublic...
    Sorry, I left this thread for a while. I haven't figured out what's wrong, but I know that it's not due to mixing 64 bit and 32 bit. I was installing xp on a single disk and vista on a raid disk (a configuration that has worked before). But even with the 32 bit, it crashes during reboot. I tried this like 15 times changing something each time. So far no luck. I think I'm gonna do without vista for a while (at least until I absolutely have to play Halo 2).

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    You did raise an interesting question though. I think I might try installing duel Vista 32 and 64 bit and see how they preform against each other.
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    mbucari1's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,871
    Here's a comparison that was posted on softpedia
    http://news.softpedia.com/news/Windo...bit-1349.shtml

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •