Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: I think I killed a core

  1. #1
    mbucari1's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,871
    Hel, I think I killed my weaker core on my core 2 duo. I tried overclocking a while w/ disastrous results (would not boot). Shortly after, I noticed something weird in cpu-z. It showed the operating frequency as 1600MHz, occasionally going up to it's proper 2400. I was concerned, but shrugged it off. But today durring chkdsk it was horribly sligish. I opened task amnager and saw that all the work load was concentrated in 1 core and my mouse was struggling tommove. So, is it dead? I'm pretty sure it is, but just wanted to check.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734
    Quote Originally Posted by mbucari1 View Post
    Hel, I think I killed my weaker core on my core 2 duo. I tried overclocking a while w/ disastrous results (would not boot). Shortly after, I noticed something weird in cpu-z. It showed the operating frequency as 1600MHz, occasionally going up to it's proper 2400. I was concerned, but shrugged it off. But today durring chkdsk it was horribly sligish. I opened task amnager and saw that all the work load was concentrated in 1 core and my mouse was struggling tommove. So, is it dead? I'm pretty sure it is, but just wanted to check.
    I think the mistake that you made was by overclocking too much at one time. You have to gradually increase the numbers, making sure that everything is A-ok before you go any higher. Try setting everything back to stock and see what happens, also you could try setting affinity to that "dead" core within task manager while running an intense program like a game or something, just to see if it has any life in it.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    mbucari1's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,871
    Quote Originally Posted by Linkin Park View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by mbucari1 View Post
    Hel, I think I killed my weaker core on my core 2 duo. I tried overclocking a while w/ disastrous results (would not boot). Shortly after, I noticed something weird in cpu-z. It showed the operating frequency as 1600MHz, occasionally going up to it's proper 2400. I was concerned, but shrugged it off. But today durring chkdsk it was horribly sligish. I opened task amnager and saw that all the work load was concentrated in 1 core and my mouse was struggling tommove. So, is it dead? I'm pretty sure it is, but just wanted to check.
    I think the mistake that you made was by overclocking too much at one time. You have to gradually increase the numbers, making sure that everything is A-ok before you go any higher. Try setting everything back to stock and see what happens, also you could try setting affinity to that "dead" core within task manager while running an intense program like a game or something, just to see if it has any life in it.
    Well, it's been at factory clock since I screwed up a few months ago. I noticed it no longer had as much "umph" as before, but I just noticed that that core is pretty much dead. Task manager showed it having tiny spikes, but nowhere close to the good core. I will try to set affinity when I get home. Maybe I'll try that vista brute force keygen (which doesn't work). It's a CPU hog.

    Hey, Igot home about 10 minutes ago and immediately ran the vista keygen. I set the affinity to cpu1 and it worked! it started using that core and well too. I think I know what's up. Durring inactive periods, both cores aren't in use. so when I ran cpu z, it only registered the operating frequency of 1 core. But I checked again while the keygen was running and sure enough cpu-z registered 2400MHz! I think it seemed slower cuz that was the time I started running vista
    Last edited by mbucari1; 04-25-2007 at 11:20 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    ZZDMAN's Avatar Dude!...Sweet!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    28
    CPUs these days are practically invincible (let alone u didn't mention any change in voltage), i'm almost positive that ur core is fine.

    that jumping of cpu frequency is a power saving feature, turn it off in the bios (prob called C1E and EIST)

    if u wanna expand ur overclocking horizons u can come visit me n the gang at forums.extremeoverclocking.com

    EDIT:
    oh yeah i forgot to mention, here are some tools to assure u that ur PC is fine:

    cpu test: http://sp2004.fre3.com/beta/beta2.htm
    ram test: http://www.memtest.org/#downiso
    hard drive test: http://www.hitachigst.com/hdd/support/download.htm#DFT
    Last edited by ZZDMAN; 04-26-2007 at 10:51 AM.
    Intel E6400 w/Scythe Infinity @ 3.2ghz on Gigabyte DS3 - Patriot 2x1gb @ 800mhz (4-4-4-12, 1.9v) - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt 256mb @ Stock - OCZ GameXstream 600w

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    mbucari1's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,871
    appreciate it zzdman!

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    ZZDMAN's Avatar Dude!...Sweet!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    28
    no problem

    make sure to keep us updated
    Intel E6400 w/Scythe Infinity @ 3.2ghz on Gigabyte DS3 - Patriot 2x1gb @ 800mhz (4-4-4-12, 1.9v) - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt 256mb @ Stock - OCZ GameXstream 600w

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •