Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: RAM not detected on my laptop?

  1. #1
    Elvenmunky's Avatar Day Sleeper
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Age
    30
    Posts
    433
    i put the ram in both slots and windows system, bios and ccleaner and crucial system scanner (where i bought it off) says 384mb of ram even tho i bought another one and put that in. chek this...do i need to enable the ram or something?

    with both newand old ram pc wizard gave me this (overview says 1gb ddr2 ram)...

    General Information :
    DIMM0 (RAS 0, RAS 1) : 512 (Single Bank)
    DIMM1 : Empty

    Information SPD EEPROM (DIMM0) :
    Manufacturer : Micron Technology
    Part Number : 4HTF6464HY-667E1
    Serial Number : D21A2562
    Type : DDR2-SDRAM PC2-5300 (333 MHz)
    Format : SO-DIMM (67.6 x 3)
    Size : 512 MB (1 ranks, 8 banks)
    Module Buffered : No
    Module Registered : No
    Module EPP : No
    Width : 64-bit
    Error Correction Capability : No
    Max. Burst Length : 0
    Refresh : Reduced (.5x)7.8 Ás, Self Refresh
    Voltage : SSTL 1.8v
    Prefetch Buffer : 4-bit
    Manufacture : Week 24 of 2007
    Supported Frequencies : 200 MHz, 266 MHz, 333 MHz
    CAS Latency (tCL) : 3 clocks @200 MHz, 4 clocks @266 MHz, 5 clocks @333 MHz
    RAS to CAS (tRCD) : 3 clocks @200 MHz, 4 clocks @266 MHz, 5 clocks @333 MHz
    RAS Precharge (tRP) : 3 clocks @200 MHz, 4 clocks @266 MHz, 5 clocks @333 MHz
    Cycle Time (tRAS) : 9 clocks @200 MHz, 12 clocks @266 MHz, 15 clocks @333 MHz
    Min TRC : 12 clocks @200 MHz, 16 clocks @266 MHz, 20 clocks @333 MHz

    Information SPD EEPROM () :
    Manufacturer : Infineon
    Part Number : 64T64020HDL3.7A
    Serial Number : 020A5812
    Type : DDR2-SDRAM PC2-4300 (266 MHz)
    Format : SO-DIMM (67.6 x 3)
    Size : 512 MB (2 ranks, 4 banks)
    Module Buffered : No
    Module Registered : No
    Module EPP : No
    Width : 64-bit
    Error Correction Capability : No
    Max. Burst Length : 0
    Refresh : Reduced (.5x)7.8 Ás, Self Refresh
    Voltage : SSTL 1.8v
    Prefetch Buffer : 4-bit
    Manufacture : Week 40 of 2006
    Supported Frequencies : 200 MHz, 266 MHz, 266 MHz
    CAS Latency (tCL) : 3 clocks @200 MHz, 4 clocks @266 MHz, 5 clocks @266 MHz
    RAS to CAS (tRCD) : 3 clocks @200 MHz, 4 clocks @266 MHz, 4 clocks @266 MHz
    RAS Precharge (tRP) : 3 clocks @200 MHz, 4 clocks @266 MHz, 4 clocks @266 MHz
    Cycle Time (tRAS) : 9 clocks @200 MHz, 12 clocks @266 MHz, 12 clocks @266 MHz
    Min TRC : 12 clocks @200 MHz, 16 clocks @266 MHz, 16 clocks @266 MHz

    Memory Controller Information :
    Memory Controller : System Memory
    Location : Mainboard
    Error Correction Capability : No
    Number of connectors : 2
    Max. Module Size : 1024 KB

    and then when im took one ram out (overview now says 512 ram) it gave me this...

    General Information :
    DIMM0 : Empty
    DIMM1 (RAS 2, RAS 3) : 512 (Double Bank)

    Information SPD EEPROM () :
    Manufacturer : Infineon
    Part Number : 64T64020HDL3.7A
    Serial Number : 020A5812
    Type : DDR2-SDRAM PC2-4300 (266 MHz)
    Format : SO-DIMM (67.6 x 3)
    Size : 512 MB (2 ranks, 4 banks)
    Module Buffered : No
    Module Registered : No
    Module EPP : No
    Width : 64-bit
    Error Correction Capability : No
    Max. Burst Length : 0
    Refresh : Reduced (.5x)7.8 Ás, Self Refresh
    Voltage : SSTL 1.8v
    Prefetch Buffer : 4-bit
    Manufacture : Week 40 of 2006
    Supported Frequencies : 200 MHz, 266 MHz, 266 MHz
    CAS Latency (tCL) : 3 clocks @200 MHz, 4 clocks @266 MHz, 5 clocks @266 MHz
    RAS to CAS (tRCD) : 3 clocks @200 MHz, 4 clocks @266 MHz, 4 clocks @266 MHz
    RAS Precharge (tRP) : 3 clocks @200 MHz, 4 clocks @266 MHz, 4 clocks @266 MHz
    Cycle Time (tRAS) : 9 clocks @200 MHz, 12 clocks @266 MHz, 12 clocks @266 MHz
    Min TRC : 12 clocks @200 MHz, 16 clocks @266 MHz, 16 clocks @266 MHz

    Memory Controller Information :
    Memory Controller : System Memory
    Location : Mainboard
    Error Correction Capability : No
    Number of connectors : 2
    Max. Module Size : 1024 KB

    its not faulty ram coz i tried both old and new in both slots and they worked each time. anyone got any suggestions...its an A6RP ASUS notebook.
    Last edited by Elvenmunky; 05-23-2007 at 11:25 AM.
    "Our generation has had no Great Depression, no Great War.
    Our war is spiritual. Our depression is our lives." - Tyler Durden

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Memory is generally arranged in one of a two ways: single and dual ranks. You can also get dimms with 4 ranks, but they aren't common.

    On some systems you can't mix single rank and dual rank memory sticks, and that's what you've done:
    DIMM0 (RAS 0, RAS 1) : 512 (Single Bank)
    DIMM1 (RAS 2, RAS 3) : 512 (Double Bank)

    It used to be that single sided dimms had a single rank and double sided dimms had dual rank. But that's not always the case any more, particularly on SODIMMs.

    You will need to exchange one of the memory sticks for one that it matches the layout of the remaining stick.

    I also notice that the sticks have different speeds. That's not a good idea either, but it is unlikely to be causing this particular problem.

    Best thing when adding more memory is to match the existing memory as closely as possible.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Elvenmunky's Avatar Day Sleeper
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Age
    30
    Posts
    433
    oh ok, so shall i buy another of the same ram then?
    "Our generation has had no Great Depression, no Great War.
    Our war is spiritual. Our depression is our lives." - Tyler Durden

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Quote Originally Posted by Elvenmunky View Post
    oh ok, so shall i buy another of the same ram then?
    That's what I'd advise.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Elvenmunky's Avatar Day Sleeper
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Age
    30
    Posts
    433
    instead i bought a single 1gb of ram to save the hassle
    "Our generation has had no Great Depression, no Great War.
    Our war is spiritual. Our depression is our lives." - Tyler Durden

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by Elvenmunky View Post
    instead i bought a single 1gb of ram to save the hassle
    That is what is known in the trade as a "workaround".
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •