Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 52

Thread: Nvidia 8800GTS vs 8800GTX

  1. #1
    WHRST's Avatar immortalis BT Rep: +13BT Rep +13BT Rep +13
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    ...the future
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,621
    whats ur opinion of these two graphics cards? i have been needing a new one for a while.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    DaMan05's Avatar GO HABS GO! BT Rep: +17BT Rep +17BT Rep +17BT Rep +17
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    HOME OF THE HABS!
    Posts
    460
    the GTS vs. GTX or opinions on the geforce8 in general?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    can I curse? FUCK!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,295
    if you're going to go with the GTX make sure you have a VERY VERY superior system. If not, then your CPU/memory is going to be bottle necking the video card.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    WHRST's Avatar immortalis BT Rep: +13BT Rep +13BT Rep +13
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    ...the future
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,621
    Quote Originally Posted by Shiranai_Baka View Post
    if you're going to go with the GTX make sure you have a VERY VERY superior system. If not, then your CPU/memory is going to be bottle necking the video card.
    i have intel core2duo E6300@1.86Ghz with 1GBram,is that good enough for the GTX? getting 4 1GB sticks soon


    Quote Originally Posted by DaMan05
    the GTS vs. GTX or opinions on the geforce8 in general?
    yes

    currently i have a XFX 7100 GS, just FYI
    Last edited by WHRST; 05-26-2007 at 05:29 AM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    can I curse? FUCK!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,295
    the 6300 is DEFINITELY not good enough for the GTX. You need one of those Core 2 Extremes to get the full power of the GTX.
    By the way if you're getting 4GB like I have right now, you should get the 64bit OS to fully use the 4GB. I'm on 32bit vista and 32bit OSes only register up to 3GB of ram due to the limitations of 32bit OSes.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    WHRST's Avatar immortalis BT Rep: +13BT Rep +13BT Rep +13
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    ...the future
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,621
    how can i tell if i have a 64bit OS? i am only getting vista when i decide on a laptop i want

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    can I curse? FUCK!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,295
    It should say X64 when you're looking at the description/name of the OS you're going to be buying.

    And you're getting the GTX for your laptop? what?

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    WHRST's Avatar immortalis BT Rep: +13BT Rep +13BT Rep +13
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    ...the future
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,621
    Quote Originally Posted by Shiranai_Baka View Post
    It should say X64 when you're looking at the description/name of the OS you're going to be buying.

    And you're getting the GTX for your laptop? what?
    i want to get a new card for desktop since i have a old one, and my laptop i am not sure whats specs i should get on it. i was asking how do i find out if my desktop has a 64bit OS?
    Last edited by WHRST; 05-26-2007 at 07:25 PM.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    can I curse? FUCK!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,295
    oh you want to know right now if your OS is 64bit. It probably isn't because 64bit OSes aren't that popular due to the lack of driver support.

    you can right click on my computer in the start menu on XP and go to properties. Or you can go into control panel>system>system info(? I don't use XP anymore so I'm not sure where everything is.)

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    DaMan05's Avatar GO HABS GO! BT Rep: +17BT Rep +17BT Rep +17BT Rep +17
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    HOME OF THE HABS!
    Posts
    460
    basically, if you dont know you have it, you dont.

Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •