Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Bittorrent doesn't work in Vista

  1. #1
    I just purchased a new laptop with Windows Vista preinstalled, and I have a problem with using p2p programs like bittorrent or limewire on it. Whenever I use those programs my internet completely times out (I can't browse, use instant messenger, or anything), and most of the time the p2p programs dont even download at all.

    I did some research, and I've narrowed the problem down to Vista's limit of 10 half-open connections, so I tried installing the auto patch that raises the limit, and it doesn't seem to have helped. Yet my old computer with Windows XP SP2 downloads perfectly fine.

    Any help is appreciated.

  2. BitTorrent   -   #2
    3 Wheels Of Tazio's Avatar Who Needs Wheels?
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    54
    Since i don't have Vista i can only speculate but it may be the clients used at fault, for instance i've heard that some people need to use the newer beta versions of uTorrent in Vista otherwise they get system hang ups, freezes etc.

  3. BitTorrent   -   #3
    mbucari1's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,871
    I'm downloading at full speed right now using utorrent on vista x64. I don't know what your problem is.

    Although, What version of vista do you use? I have ultimate. Like xp so2, there is a limit on the number of half-open connections allowed. But on home basic, the max allowed was chopped down to 2. That might be your problem.

  4. BitTorrent   -   #4
    didnt have any problems when i used utorrent on vista ultimate

  5. BitTorrent   -   #5
    fester32's Avatar Big daft buggar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Steel City
    Posts
    33
    I've had no problems myself (using azureus) on Ultimate x64

  6. BitTorrent   -   #6
    Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    62
    isnt there a client for Vista called Ktorrent or something like that?

  7. BitTorrent   -   #7
    KFlint's Avatar ... BT Rep: +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5,642
    running vista home premium here without any problem

    i don't have a clue about your problem sorry

  8. BitTorrent   -   #8
    Member BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    53
    using utorrent on vista ultimate, haven't had any problems

  9. BitTorrent   -   #9
    p3st's Avatar pest BT Rep: +17BT Rep +17BT Rep +17BT Rep +17
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    270
    how many half open connections are allowed in vista home premium?

  10. BitTorrent   -   #10
    mbucari1's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,871
    I read something in utorrent forums. Someone else was having the same problem and fixed it by running it as administrator. If you don't have user account control turned off, then you should try this. If UAC is on, then everything is run as administrator by default.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •