Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Clean Xp Install w/ two HDs... how?

  1. #1
    worldpease's Avatar always annoying
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Tj Mexico
    Posts
    1,430
    Hi guys, remember I wanted a second Hard Drive? well I got one!
    it's a 300(+20)GB Maxtor. Actually I got it like two weeks ago, but I've been kinda busy so only now I maight have time to install it.
    So here I am,
    see, I prety much understand how to install this new HD as it is into my current system,
    but I was thinking that it would be even better to do a clean install,
    with my 80GB HD as a master with windows XP in it,
    and on my 300 GB HD have 'My Documents' folders and all that stuff;
    cus I've seen this before, ppl that have, literaly, the 'My Docs' folder in the Slave drive and it seems as the best way to hgo, at least to me.
    But enough of my babbling, do I explain my self?
    It's basically the 'clean install with two HDs' that gets me stuck.

    So if you can point me to some guide or hints would be appreciated,
    thanks guys.

    Ooh, and it's an IDE, the one with the flat gray cable.
    Last edited by worldpease; 06-01-2007 at 02:33 AM. Reason: it's an IDE!

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    I don't quite understand what your difficulty is but when you install XP you'll see a partition management tool. You can choose where XP is to be installed.

    The 'My Documents' folder can be readjusted once the install is complete. Just Right click on 'My Documents' and select Properties. Click the Move button under Target folder location.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    When installing to a multi-drive environment I find it easiest to unplug the extra drive(s) until Windows is installed to the target drive.

    Windows is stupid and easily confused (try installing on a PC with a card reader and you'll see what I mean) so eliminating ALL it's options is the safest method.

    After install, plug in the second drive and follow VB's advice.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    popwar's Avatar Popwar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Age
    29
    Posts
    232
    not that complicated really. i got a 40 and a 60 gb hard drive. i just installed windows xp on them both seperetly while they were both plugged in. you dont have to unplug anything.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    I don't think you'll run into any problems. Maybe try and have a spare computer that you could sign online and ask if you run into any trouble. Windows pretty much installs itself. As for what they've said about unplugging your additional hard drive, it's not a bad idea, it's just a little extra effort... I probably wouldn't recommend it. I would however recommend that you backup your old data onto your new 300 gig hard drive and keep it on there for as long as you can. This way if you ever need anything you can go back and retrieve it easily. Tis all I can think of for now, I don't think you'll run into any problems though..

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    worldpease's Avatar always annoying
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Tj Mexico
    Posts
    1,430
    Yeah!, you four make sence, and that 'Move' option for My Docs. folder I didn't, know,
    thanks... now I think I can handle it... the HD I mean, lol.

    And just to add to what 'deluxe' said, I actually do log in to the web for 'emergency advice' from time to time, either form the livinroom or my laptop, that is
    probably the only reason I haven sold the last.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    worldpease's Avatar always annoying
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Tj Mexico
    Posts
    1,430
    I did it!, Lol... it's done, I now have an 80GB HD for windows,
    and a 300 GB HD for my Styff,.
    It's weas quite simple actually, I might have had to play a bit with the Jumpers, but now everything works great.
    Thanx.




Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •