Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Dial-up Connection Too Slow?

  1. #1
    brotherdoobie's Avatar Long live Hissyfit BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Next To Automated Alice
    Posts
    11,489
    The speed may be set incorrectly in Windows for your modem.
    Heres how to get the most out of it.

    Click Start,expand Settings,click Control Panel,and double- click the modems icon.
    Then select the General tab,click the name of your modem to highlight it,and click Properties.On the General tab,use the drop-down menu to switch the Maximum speed to twice the rated speed of your modem(or faster)this allows data compression when possible.
    Click the Connection tab, click the Port Settings button,and put a check in the box to use UART(universal asynchromous receiver-transmitter). Also move the Transmit Buffer and Receive Buffer sliders all the way to the right.
    Click OK and then click the advanced button. Put checks in the Use Error Control
    and Compress Data checkboxes;also put a check in the Use Flow Control box and make sure the Hardware radio button is selected.
    Not all older modems support all of these features,but most modern 56k modems do.
    If your modem doesn't support a feature it will be grayed out in the Modem properties box.

    Windows XP User's

    Click Start,click Control Panel,click,click to Classic View,and open the Phone And Modems tab, click the name of the modem to highlight it,and click Properties.
    Choose the Modem tab and use the drop-down menu to select a Maximum Port Speed that's twice the speed of your modem (or more).
    Move to the Advanced tab and click Advanceed Port Settings. Then check the use FIFO Buffers box and move the Transmit and Receive sliders all the way to the right.

    I hope this helps some(I know sometimes I forget about default settings and
    stuff).
    Not a good idea since most of us are Windows user's .....


    Peace brotherdoobie B)

  2. File Sharing   -   #2
    does this really work? and if it does, does it make it easier for hackers to screw your computer?

  3. File Sharing   -   #3
    Originally posted by MeMeMeSoHony@6 July 2003 - 06:08
    does this really work? and if it does, does it make it easier for hackers to screw your computer?
    yeah, it can work in some cases.
    however, it can also lead to disconnection problems (i.e. modem disconencting for some reason, or taking a while to disconnect)

    it doesn't make it any easier for hackers to muck up your computer (though the sligh increase in bandwidth theoretically means they can hack you faster, but it's not really anything major)

  4. File Sharing   -   #4
    brotherdoobie's Avatar Long live Hissyfit BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Next To Automated Alice
    Posts
    11,489
    Originally posted by 2nd gen noob+6 July 2003 - 00:18--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (2nd gen noob @ 6 July 2003 - 00:18)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-MeMeMeSoHony@6 July 2003 - 06:08
    does this really work? and if it does, does it make it easier for hackers to screw your computer?&nbsp;
    yeah, it can work in some cases.
    however, it can also lead to disconnection problems (i.e. modem disconencting for some reason, or taking a while to disconnect)

    it doesn&#39;t make it any easier for hackers to muck up your computer (though the sligh increase in bandwidth theoretically means they can hack you faster, but it&#39;s not really anything major) [/b][/quote]
    There should be no problems with dropped connections.
    Realy you are just changing the default settings for your modem.



    Peace brotherdoobie B)

  5. File Sharing   -   #5
    ...these were my default settings.

  6. File Sharing   -   #6
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,397
    wel nice tiip brotherdubie

  7. File Sharing   -   #7
    mogadishu's Avatar {}"_++()_><.,{}}[":+
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,759
    how much of an increase is it. I guess anything is a lot for 56kers.. If i could i would buy all of you dsl.
    signature removed, check the boardrules.

  8. File Sharing   -   #8
    brotherdoobie's Avatar Long live Hissyfit BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Next To Automated Alice
    Posts
    11,489
    Originally posted by mogadishu@10 July 2003 - 13:50
    how much of an increase is it. I guess anything is a lot for 56kers.. If i could i would buy all of you dsl.
    lol....or Cable which I have....but I remember dial up.
    It is a whole differnt world now with a cable modem

    But I had dial up most of the time I was on the internet, and I spent alot of time
    tweaking my dial up connection.

    Give it a try ...........It cant hurt
    Good luck


    Peace brotherdoobie B)

  9. File Sharing   -   #9
    Mogadishu, buy me DSL and I will...I will...GIVE YOU LOTS OF PORN :-"

  10. File Sharing   -   #10
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    Tweaking a 56k modem is a waste of time... you wont see n e improvement.. only way to get real improvement is to get DSL or Cable. (or T1 or T3 if your some really rich rich lol)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •