Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Office 2007 on a mac?

  1. #1
    Smith's Avatar Since 1989.. BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    in a plane, high as fuck
    Posts
    5,637
    I've got a copy of Office 2007 and my buddy has a mac, and he wants to know if it will work on it.

    Does anyone know if it will work? If not, what do I need?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    Quote Originally Posted by Smith View Post

    Does anyone know if it will work?
    no it wont

    If not, what do I need?
    windows

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Smith's Avatar Since 1989.. BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    in a plane, high as fuck
    Posts
    5,637
    Alright thanks, Im downloading office 2004 for mac right now..its a .dmg file..how do I burn that?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    103
    are you downloading it on a PC or a mac? Alternatively, if your friend has a copy of windows, he can use Paralells or BootCamp to run windows on his mac.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Smith View Post
    Alright thanks, Im downloading office 2004 for mac right now..its a .dmg file..how do I burn that?
    On a Mac, the .dmg file should just be mountable as a HD or you should be able to just drag it to a blank CD/DVD to burn it.

    On a PC it might be best to use DMG2ISO (search for it), so you'll end up with an ISO file and then burn the iso file to a CD/DVD

    Or as the above poster mentioned, if you really want Office 2007 use bootcamp or Parallels (assuming you have an intel mac). Both work pretty well.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Smith's Avatar Since 1989.. BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    in a plane, high as fuck
    Posts
    5,637
    Well this isnt for me, its for a buddy. Once its burned as an ISO it will work on a mac right?

    e/ did i mention im on a pc? Does dmg2iso have a windows version?
    Last edited by Smith; 08-01-2007 at 09:35 PM.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Yes dmg2iso can be had as a win32 binary.

    1. Download the win32 binary from here: http://vu1tur.eu.org/tools/

    2. Probably save it to your root directory - c:/

    3. Go to a command prompt and 'level down' to the root directory (or where ever you saved dmg2iso)

    4. at the cmd prompt type:
    dmg2iso.exe [filename.dmg] [filename.iso] where [filename.dmg] is the exact name of the file you have and then [filename.iso] to whatever file you want to call it. Note: do not type the '[ ]' in the filenames. Also note that your .dmg file needs to be in the same directory as dmg2iso.exe

    As for burning the iso that will work on a mac. It should be fine as long as the DMG file was fine.
    Last edited by blEnder; 08-01-2007 at 09:54 PM.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Smith's Avatar Since 1989.. BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    in a plane, high as fuck
    Posts
    5,637
    I dont understand what you mean by "go to a command prompt" I tried to open up the file and it wont.

    e/ nvm, now it says it wont open it up "cant open input file"

    Suggestions?

    I typed "dmg2iso.exe [mso.dmg] [mso2.iso]" <enter>
    Last edited by Smith; 08-01-2007 at 10:26 PM.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Poster BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    103
    there is no []

    so it should be "dmg2iso.exe mso.dmg mso2.iso"
    without the ""

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Smith View Post
    I dont understand what you mean by "go to a command prompt" I tried to open up the file and it wont.

    e/ nvm, now it says it wont open it up "cant open input file"

    Suggestions?

    I typed "dmg2iso.exe [mso.dmg] [mso2.iso]" <enter>
    As mentioned, as I put in the instruction post, don't use the brackets.

    Did you get it to work now?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •