Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 2 computers - avoid 2nd format

  1. #1
    BANNED BT Rep: +11BT Rep +11BT Rep +11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    177
    i have 2 desktops, just formated one and wanted to do the same with the other.

    i was wondering... what if i just copy/paste ALL "Documents and Settings", "Program Files" and "Windows" Folders from one pc to the other?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    harrycary's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Omaha, Ne USA
    Posts
    1,078
    So just format the 2nd computer.

    Cutting and pasting files from one to the other won't work.

    You can still have potential problems with your registry. It willl be in the
    same condition as before.

    Seems to be a lame approach to shortcut a simple process like formatting.

    It's easy enough (if using WinXP, you didn't state the O/Ss you're working with),
    to use the "files and settings" wizard to back up your system.

    Please be more clear of your intent and provide more details so someone here can steer you
    in the right direction.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    If you were running Linux that would work.

    But not in the doze.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    lol scofeild that is funny. it would be cool if it were that easy. i tried backing up my documents and settings folder and it wouldn't allow me to copy and paste because some files we currently being used. i didn't try in safe mode though.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    BANNED BT Rep: +11BT Rep +11BT Rep +11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    177
    Quote Originally Posted by harrycary View Post
    So just format the 2nd computer.

    Cutting and pasting files from one to the other won't work.

    You can still have potential problems with your registry. It willl be in the
    same condition as before.

    Seems to be a lame approach to shortcut a simple process like formatting.

    It's easy enough (if using WinXP, you didn't state the O/Ss you're working with),
    to use the "files and settings" wizard to back up your system.

    Please be more clear of your intent and provide more details so someone here can steer you
    in the right direction.
    what i wanted was to avoid 2nd format... it takes too long...

    Last edited by scofield; 08-15-2007 at 07:13 PM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    if you are installing windows xp, you can just do a quick format... it doesn't take that long.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    BANNED BT Rep: +11BT Rep +11BT Rep +11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    177
    what if i use Symantec Norton Ghost?

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    mbucari1's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,871
    Quote Originally Posted by scofield View Post
    what if i use Symantec Norton Ghost?
    should work. My school uses that to image all the HDD's in the labs. It will be an exact copy of what you have. Also, ghost defragments as it restores, so might perform better too. I've never used it, but I have used a program called retrospect which does the same thing.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    Ime using ghost HEAVILY can corrupt XPs MBR. I used to use it 5-25x week. And eventually that happened. And for other as well.

    But never once with Acronis MigrateEasy.

    Just my .02.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •