Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: FTP Help With Windows 2003 Server:

  1. #1
    Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    271
    Hi, I just picked up a Host- IE account raptor-3
    I have windows 2003 server on it .
    For the live of me I can’t get my Cute ftp to work and connect to my server.
    with it at is installed on my home computer.
    I did google It to see if something is not turned on at the server.
    I didn’t find an answer,
    Any one have a problem with using ftp to get files this way.
    I did try all the different ways on cute ftp.
    I'm using the built in xp remote keyboard to use the server.

    How are you moving your files from your server to your home computer?
    Before I post I do use the scearch engine.
    Thanks,
    Last edited by mr.Dman; 08-15-2007 at 11:45 AM. Reason: Changed wording

  2. File Sharing   -   #2
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    do you have a ftp server installed on the host ?
    is the service running ?

  3. File Sharing   -   #3
    Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    271
    No,
    I don't have one on it .
    I didn't know I needed that.
    Is there program that I need.
    Thanks

  4. File Sharing   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    29
    First thing, FTP is NOT installed by default, you need to install - MS has excellent material on this. Also port 21 must be OPEN on your firewall. This should be the basics for the FTP server to work. However by default on a MS FTP server, you MUST specify the domain or server name in the username field when trying to authenticate via FTP.

    Eg. I have a server is named SERVER1 and a user named BOB. Using FTP, I must specify the username SERVER1\BOB

    If I just specify BOB, CuteFTP won't connect and an error will be written to screen (530) from memory.

    If this doesn't help, you really do need to provide more info such as what has been installed, tried and any errors.

  5. File Sharing   -   #5
    Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    271
    Ok now I know what to.
    I did click the link from 4play that goes to MS.
    I will look at everything.
    Host-IE.com is were server is so I can't put a dvd disc in to install the programs that I would need.
    Thanks for everyones help.

  6. File Sharing   -   #6
    sct sucks ass.
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    29
    Install Serv-U (You can get a keygen anywhere on the web) (easiest setup ever + fxp enabled).

  7. File Sharing   -   #7
    Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    271
    Quote Originally Posted by hp1702 View Post
    Install Serv-U (You can get a keygen anywhere on the web) (easiest setup ever + fxp enabled).
    Well I installed the program .they have one that you can use for 30 days. It worked good .
    This
    Morning I went to the server to check how things are going It was there .I left my computer for a minute cam back signed back on and Itís gone!
    I donít Know If its them removing things or thereís some kind of program running thatís doing it.
    The night before my Utorrent was gone and all of the files with It.
    It was the 1.6.1 one.

  8. File Sharing   -   #8
    sct sucks ass.
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    29
    I'd advise you to change your password, and make sure somebody hasn't keylogged you or something as that doesn't just happen like that.

    Sometimes hosts go for maintainence with the box is rebooted so when you install just log off and relogon.

  9. File Sharing   -   #9
    Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    271
    Quote Originally Posted by hp1702 View Post
    I'd advise you to change your password, and make sure somebody hasn't keylogged you or something as that doesn't just happen like that.

    Sometimes hosts go for maintainence with the box is rebooted so when you install just log off and relogon.
    I did change my password last night.I will change it again.
    I didn't look at add remove programs to see if it not there.
    A keyloger would have to be in my home computer is that right?
    Thanks
    Last edited by mr.Dman; 08-16-2007 at 03:05 PM. Reason: spelling

  10. File Sharing   -   #10
    sct sucks ass.
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    29
    Well you could have a keylogger on all of your pc's but VERY Unlikely.
    Install a program, then log off. Relogon and see if it's there - if it's not then you might want your host to reinstall it or have a look if it's managed.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •