Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: DDR questions...

  1. #1
    I'm back! :o BT Rep: +12BT Rep +12BT Rep +12
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    252
    Hey, I have no clue what all the different types of ram are so i need to ask a few questions.

    My Ma's home computer has this motherboard:

    http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Model=K8NF6G-VSTA

    It says it can take DDR400, But here are my questions:

    1. I know there are different pin sizes(?) etc in some ram, So is DDR all 1 "type"? (Pins, Length etc)
    2. What should i look for in the ram that decides if its good or bad? Someone said to check the "layers" Whats good and bad layers?

    Thanks for any answers

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by Luke_marlow View Post
    1. I know there are different pin sizes(?) etc in some ram, So is DDR all 1 "type"? (Pins, Length etc)
    2. What should i look for in the ram that decides if its good or bad? Someone said to check the "layers" Whats good and bad layers?
    All DDR 1 is physically interchangable.

    Look for low latencies...i.e., 2,3,3,5, etc.
    The lower the numbers, the better.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    It'll be 184 pin RAM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    I'm back! :o BT Rep: +12BT Rep +12BT Rep +12
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    252
    Ok, Got that covered, So heres a problem related with ram for my computer. I was running on 768MB ram, But today my 2x 1GB sticks came. (I said in a previous thread i had 2GB, As i knew they were coming, So asking for updates on what i would have had when parts arrive)

    Anyway, My motherboard can only take 1GB sticks in the 2 slots (2 GB total) However, Once i added them in, They dont work.

    By not working, I mean the computer starts ok, Sounds like its running fine, But no signal gets to the monitor.

    All the ram sticks are 400 Mhz (1GB * 2 / 512mb * 1 / 256mb * 1) Below is what combinations i tried:

    Slot 1: 1GB
    Slot 2: None
    Result: Screen wont load.

    Slot 1: 1GB
    Slot 2: 1GB
    Result: Same as above.

    Slot 1: 1GB
    Slot 2: 512MB
    Result: Starts fine, Windows starts, But when i check current memory in the spec display screen, It only lists 512MB and not the 1GB.

    Anyone ever had this issue?
    Could something in my system be blocking anything above X amount in a slot? (Windows XP / SP2)

    Edit: The board is P4i65G which states on the page:

    Memory
    - Dual Channel DDR memory technology
    - 2 x DDR DIMM slots
    - Supports DDR400/333/266
    - Max. capacity: 2GB

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    Did you check the mobo brand site for compatible sticks? I'd do so now.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    What processor do you have?

    If it has a 533MHz FSB then the system will only support DDR266 and DDR333 memory. See page 8 of the manual. You may be able to get round that by forcing the memory speed in bios (page 24).
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    I'm back! :o BT Rep: +12BT Rep +12BT Rep +12
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    252
    The processor is a crappy celeron 2.66Ghz which allows upto DDR400 i believe, Which is what the memory was.

    It turned out to be a good thing though, Kinda. The ram didn`t work in mine, But i took it to the parents house and tried in their board and it works fine in there. So at least i have the initial post all sorted now.

    Only difference between my comp and theirs (to me) is that mines intel and theirs is AMD, But im clueless with all the specs etc, Although trying to learn more about it all

    Just to find one that works for mine now. Is www.crucial.com memory reliable and good quality? Considering going there as it looks simple enough. Select maker, select model and get a list of what will work etc.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    Belarc advisor will tell you your mobo.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    The 2.66GHz Celeron has an FSB speed of 533MHz, so there's absolutely no benefit in fitting DDR400 memory instead of DDR333 and you run the risk that you won't be able to get it to post. That may be what happened with the 2x1GB sticks you tried previously.

    Normally I would suggest buying the fastest memory within your budget, just so you can move it on to another system if necessary. But since newer systems won't accept DDR 1 memory there doesn't seem much point.
    This should meet your requirements.
    http://www.crucial.com/store/partspe...T2KIT12864Z335

    I'd be interested to know the maker of the original sticks you tried though, I've seen some comments about compatibility problems of the type you describe with Kingston DDR400 memory. It's a shame AsRock don't provide a memory compatibility list.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    I'm back! :o BT Rep: +12BT Rep +12BT Rep +12
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    252
    Quote Originally Posted by lynx View Post
    I'd be interested to know the maker of the original sticks you tried though, I've seen some comments about compatibility problems of the type you describe with Kingston DDR400 memory. It's a shame AsRock don't provide a memory compatibility list.
    I have no clue what make they were, They didn`t have one stated on....wait for it....ebay

    They didnt really cost alot anyway, Around $60-70 for the 2 gig, But i chose some of the cheapest because i was thinking of if they would work or not anyway. I seen others listed on there that only worked with certain chipsets etc, So i always had doubts that they wouldnt work, Which turned out to be correct.

    At least some good came of it and one problem got fixed while another occurred

    Could you tell me what would be the difference between the 2GB that crucial says is best for the mobo when i select the motherboard etc in the menu or the one you pointed out.

    They are both the same price and i was thinking about getting what crucial suggested, But if it will cause any problems etc i would just go with the PC2700.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •