Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Opinions on this system?

  1. #1
    mike45450's Avatar =_=_=
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    England
    Age
    28
    Posts
    511

    Smile

    I'm buying a new system, though it's my first time building it from scratch with components. Could you guys just give some insight into whether or not everything is compatible, and if I need to make any adjustments?
    • Gigabyte GA P35C DS3R
    • Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 "LGA775 Kentsfield" 2.40GHz (1066FSB) - Retail
    • Corsair 2GB DDR2 XMS2-6400C5 TwinX (2x1GB)
    • Leadtek GeForce 8600 GT Extreme 256MB GDDR3 HDTV/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail
    • Western Digital Caviar SE16 320GB 3200AAKS SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM
    • 530w Tagan EasyCon TG530-U15 2Force Silent Modular
    • Lian-Li PC-7 PLUS Aluminium Midi-Tower Case
    • Pioneer DVR-112D 18x18 DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter
    • About £20 for some fans
    Altogether comes to about £606. I'm probably gonna need to downgrade some stuff like the CPU and GPU since I may need a monitor to go with it too. It's gonna mainly be used for things like graphics (Photoshop and maybe some 3D stuff), gaming (though not too hardcore) and other basic crap.

    But yeah, any major issues with compatibility or any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by mike45450; 08-29-2007 at 11:29 PM.


  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    LaPistola's Avatar about BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    748
    If thats all your using it for i definitely suggest downgrading to a core 2 duo, as a quad core is far from necessary for what you are doing, also maybe another faster hard drive for the os and some big programs or games? Just a thought...
    Quote Originally Posted by bigboab View Post
    I don't know about the north but in the south an Englishman is about as welcome as a fart in a space suit.




  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    AmpeD's Avatar the o'lol factor BT Rep: +10BT Rep +10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    771
    ya you dont need quad core, go core 2 extreme or somethin
    and downgrade ur gfx card a bit, maybe a 7800gtx

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    snap3r's Avatar ..::/\::.. BT Rep: +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    661
    thats alot of power for graphics and a little gaming
    you should replace the quad core with a 3 ghz core 2 duo > its better and i think it has a lower cost than quad core

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    mike45450's Avatar =_=_=
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    England
    Age
    28
    Posts
    511
    Ok, i've updated my list now. How's it looking this time?

    • Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R
    • Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4ghz
    • Corsair 2GB DDR2 XMS2-6400C5 TwinX (2x1GB)
    • Asus ATI Radeon X1950 Pro HTDP 256MB GDDR3 HDTV/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail
    • 320 Gb Samsung HD321KJ
    • Corsair HX 520W ATX2.2 Modular SLI Compliant PSU (CMPSU-520HXUK)
    • Lian-Li PC-7 PLUS Aluminium Midi-Tower Case
    • Pioneer DVR-112D 18x18 DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter
    This list adds up to about £560, which is a lot better. I may add another HD so that I have one for files and stuff, and one just for Windows and maybe programs. One thing i'm not sure is the ATX 2.0 and 2.2 stuff, will the things I chose be ok?

    Thanks again


  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    I like to have a relatively small hard drive for Windows then a larger one for files and data, meaning if Windows goes up in smoke I only lose the Windows install. Even an old drive lying around will do, my Windows is currently running off a 20GB HDD and then I have a 500GB for games, programs, downloads and other stuff.

    Im sure you can pick up a cheap 80GB HDD that will do the job.

    What about operating system, printer, mouse, keyboard, floppy drive/card reader?


  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by Peerzy View Post
    I like to have a relatively small hard drive for Windows then a larger one for files and data, meaning if Windows goes up in smoke I only lose the Windows install. Even an old drive lying around will do, my Windows is currently running off a 20GB HDD and then I have a 500GB for games, programs, downloads and other stuff.
    Why not just partition?

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Quote Originally Posted by rossco View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Peerzy View Post
    I like to have a relatively small hard drive for Windows then a larger one for files and data, meaning if Windows goes up in smoke I only lose the Windows install. Even an old drive lying around will do, my Windows is currently running off a 20GB HDD and then I have a 500GB for games, programs, downloads and other stuff.
    Why not just partition?

    Thats how I have mine too Ross , but a 80 and a 250 gb hhd.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Smith's Avatar Since 1989.. BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    in a plane, high as fuck
    Posts
    5,637
    Dont downgrade your video, why would you do that. Go back to the DX10 card, its always good to have that extra capability.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Quote Originally Posted by rossco View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Peerzy View Post
    I like to have a relatively small hard drive for Windows then a larger one for files and data, meaning if Windows goes up in smoke I only lose the Windows install. Even an old drive lying around will do, my Windows is currently running off a 20GB HDD and then I have a 500GB for games, programs, downloads and other stuff.
    Why not just partition?
    If I partition and the HDD goes in some way or another (I've had 2 go in the past) I lose everything. If I have two drives one may go but the chances of the second going at the exact same time are quite slim.

    I know it's possible but I've only ever had 1 go at a time before.

    If HDD1 goes then I just need to buy a small drive and reinstall Windows and I will still have all my data. If HDD2 goes at least I still have Windows to use a computer and can do any work/emergence stuff and just save onto HDD1 until I get a replacement HDD2.

    Plus in future builds I can purchase an uber fast 80GB HDD for my Windows and then a standard HDD for my data, meaning all programs and Windows can go on the uber fast drive, speeding up loading times and all data and whatnot going on the second drive.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •