Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Ntsf On C: Fat32 On D

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Southern California USA
    Posts
    571

    I have an NTSF file system on C: and on my second HDD I have a fat32 file system.
    Is there a problem with this.
    Should I convert the second HDD to NTSF?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    mogadishu's Avatar {}"_++()_><.,{}}[":+
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,759
    i dont see any problems.
    signature removed, check the boardrules.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    uNz[i]'s Avatar Out of order
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2,259
    According to annoyances.org, having your second hdd formatted as FAT 32 can cause random hangs and crashes.

    The Article

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    FST Retiree
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Age
    35
    Posts
    634
    Originally posted by ShockAndAwe^i^@10 July 2003 - 00:02

    I have an NTSF file system on C: and on my second HDD I have a fat32 file system.
    Is there a problem with this.
    Should I convert the second HDD to NTSF?
    as long as you don&#39;t have an nt based operating system (i.e. 2000, nt 4.0, or xp) installed on the second hdd, it should be fine. it is recomended that you run those os&#39;s on ntfs. but if the second hdd is only for file storage, then there is no need to convert it to ntfs unless you experience problems or absolutley want to.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    There should be no problem with that.

    But ntfs is a great filesystem to say the least.

    File and folder compression and encryption (cant do both at the same time though)
    as well as other great features of ntfs. I wouldnt consider anything less, unless you really have to opt for a fat file system.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Southern California USA
    Posts
    571
    Thanks guys&#33;
    Great information.
    The second Drive is for storage only.
    My old setup was 2 fat32 HDD&#39;s and I ran my progs from the second HDD.

    @Justsomeguy
    Thanks for your article&#33;
    I&#39;m going to read it now.

    Oh yeah
    The second hard drive is from my old comp in which I was running Win ME.
    That&#39;s the only reason it&#39;s a fat 32.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •