Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Quick Questions About Installing Win Xp Pro Corp

  1. #1
    Roosh's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    SF, CA
    Posts
    165
    So, I'm about to do a clean1k on my shitty WinMe carrying C-Drive and install WinXP (Windows_XP_Pro_Corporate_Final.iso.exe & Office XP (1).iso.exe)

    First of all, what's with the .iso and .exe? Should I just remove the .exe and isobust them?

    or leave them that way and install directly to the newly reformatted C-Drive?

    {Mind you, I'm a newbie, so I don't really fully know what I'm talking about}
    >>Do I have to burn each of these to separate discs, and use to install during and not after the formatting process?
    What do I do about having a WinXp installation/resource disc for future reference. Do I just burn the apps to disc and they will serve as installation and resource disks?

    Please enlighten. TIA.


    Balamm to the rescue?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    It looks like you've downloaded a destructive worm. DON'T open the file whatever you do:

    http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&lr=&...G=Google+Search

    No true ISO should have an .exe extension and XP Corp doesn't come with Office XP.

    How big is the file? RIGHT-click it and choose properties to see the filesize.

    Mercurius

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Age
    36
    Posts
    3,357
    Originally posted by Mercurius@11 July 2003 - 03:23
    It looks like you've downloaded a destructive worm. DON'T open the file whatever you do:

    http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&lr=&...G=Google+Search

    No true ISO should have an .exe extension and XP Corp doesn't come with Office XP.

    How big is the file? RIGHT-click it and choose properties to see the filesize.

    Mercurius
    The file is ok. It has the extra exe extention to make it easier to find during a search. If it was only called iso it would not come up in a search for software.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Age
    36
    Posts
    3,357
    First of all just remove the exe part of the file name.

    Then if you have nero, open it and cancel the wizard and choose burn image from the file menu, then select the iso.

    Then once you have your cd, restart your comp with the cd in your cd-drive and follow the instructions. At some point there will be the option to format your harddrive.

    Here's is more imformation that might help.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Roosh's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    SF, CA
    Posts
    165
    Well, there's a new issue:

    Even when I open the folder merely containing the files, the system freezes and I have to cntrl-alt-delete or restart.

    Is this a result of the worm?
    I can tell you that I used to have the XP file, Office Xp (which didn't come with XP Corp, I downloaded it separately) and XP Bible pdf all compressed in one rar file, sitting in a folder. Prior to moving the files from the archive back to the folder, there were no issues. As soon as the move finished, the freezing started. I had to go into safe mode to delete the archive, thinking it was creating the problem, but the problem persists.

    I think it's time to delete those 3 files.

    Can someone reccommend a trusted copy of XP Pro Corp & Office XP (do I really have to download that separately or is it included in XP Pro?) to download (preferably fast on Klite)?
    Thanks.




    >>>Now Klite isn't working! When I start it, it freezes on the opening page, but you can hear the sound of files downloading in the background. Should I just uninstall and reinstall? Will my temp files be saved or do I have to move them?

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    I would suggest re-donwloading the files seperately. I have not heard of a file that contains both that is real. look in the verifieds for the files.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Roosh's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    SF, CA
    Posts
    165
    Ok.
    So delete the original possibly corrupted xps and download new ones, right?

    What about k-lite's .dat files -- do I have to move them to a temporary folder while I uninstall & reinstall, or can they stay there?

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3,597
    You need to do some system maintainance now if you want to save anything you have. Get into safe mode and do an advanced scandisk with the check disk surface option checked. When that's done, in safe mode again, run a thorough defrag. Do it a couple of times to make sure it's done right. Windows only does the best it can do each time based on a few pre defrag calculations.

    Then you'll need to figure out if you want to save all to another drive or CD's. It's best if you start with nothing on the hard drive.
    You'll want to make a ghost image of the backup information in case you want to or need to go back later.
    When every thing is saved and you're ready to start fresh, run KillDisk, available on google, to clean the hard drive comlpetely. If you absolutely can't start clean, then you'll need partition magic 6 or 8 to work inside ME. Make the 2 floppy disks for partition magic, reboot to run from floppy and move everything you have now up by about 6 gig to start. Create a new partition and format it NTFS. Set it active in the advanced menu and reboot.

    If you ran KillDisk instead, then using a win9x startup disk, run FDISK at the A:\ prompt. Setup your partitions, set it active, reboot with the startup disk again. Run format C: /s to prepare the drive's first partition. Then restart with the bootable CD in the drive and install to that first partition.

    If you went with only Partition magic, then opy the important files you want back to a temp folder in XP and use partition magic to resize XP again as much as you can. You may have to do it a few times, transfering and resizing. Be patient, If you try to rush or cancel any step, you'll lose it all.

    There are all kinds of options for XP packages but I staill prefer one that asn't been hacked or changed in any way. If you get a clean original, you'll need SP1_en_x86 and a valid 5x5 key to get it registered.
    This method gets you a legal, registered install with full product support.

    If you go with SP1 integrated, all you need is a 5x5 key but you won't be registered.

    Office XP with Frontpage is the preferred office package. Not as common but more complete. There's no need to register this one if you use the first XP install method.

    All of these are available on emule right now but may take a while to complete. There are other configurations possible to not lose your existing OS, but run XP as a second OS in a dual boot configuration.
    I posted one reply earlier today so take a look farther down the page here to see if that's maybe right for you instead.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Roosh's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    SF, CA
    Posts
    165
    I appreciate the lengthy reply.

    I'm a little apprehensive of going through all that before knowing what the problem actually was and whether it can still be corrected -- what do you think's going on here in the first place?

    I was preparing to find ways to back up everything I needed on my C Drive (the one with Windows, Program Files, etc) for the xp install and now it looks like I'll have to figure out what's expendable and what isn't on my nearly full 28 gig D - drive -- that's another reason I don't want to jump the gun just yet.

    In terms of replacing the corrupted xps, maybe it would help if you gave me the exact size of the "SP1_en_x86" version -- there are over 8000 files on Overnet in a windows xp search! Is that version xp pro corporate, or just home? There are plenty xp pro corp integrated on the donkey clients available, but with Dell saying they won't support an OS that didn't come pre-installed w/ my pc, I definitely will need that product support you mention -- just wish it could be a pro version w/ all the bells and whistles at the same time.

    Edits:

    -Also, can you address the questions I have from a few posts up regarding (bootable) installation disks?

    -I don't know what you mean by "5x5 key"

    >>Isn't a service pack a free add-on downloaded from Microsoft? Does it really matter whether I get a SP1 or not?

    >>What is the diiference between xp pro & xp pro corp? worth it?

    >>Does "with activation" mean a "legal, registered install with full product support"?

    >>What is "Frontpage"?

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3,597
    XP Pro Corp comes in a lot of configurations. The original copy I have is in fact bootable. I'm not a fan of messing with the install media. I prefer to keep them clean, original, and collectable and do any updates after install.
    The SP1_en_x86 is a service pack only.

    133 MB (140,440,152 bytes)
    xpsp1_en_x86.exe

    You'll need it to make it a legal install if you prefer to go that way.
    If you get the integrated XP+SP1a then it will work but you may have problems with the next service pack.
    Microsoft uses a variety of methods to authenticate an install. A 5x5 key is 5 sets of 5 numbers that you type in at install. Some people use a keygen but there again, you risk problems with SP2. you're better to use an accepted or leaked key and hack the OOBE timer in the XP registry, then apply SP1 to change to a microsoft approved product key. The product key is a bit different from the 5x5 key that everyone confuses it with. The product key is generated by the system when you install XP. It's sometimes a combination of system variables or a hardware inventory combined with your 5x5 key that produces a unique "product" key for your install. You can track that number down and put it back in when you reinstall.
    The product support won't be what ou recieve from Dell. Microsoft only accepts error reports about XP and will either send you an answer on what they suspect caused the error, or they'll send you a tracking number that you can manually follow through the microsoft bug works.
    It's unlikely they'd walk you through a configuration problem and I would hesitate to test that with a pirated installation, even if it is activated and registered.

    XP Pro and XP Pro Corporate are basically the same system. Corporate is designed to bypass the actuall activation process so it's easier to deploy in a large business.
    Either will work for you. There are many ways to beat activation now anyway. The OOBE timer was the big hurdle at first but MS released the info to disable that timer and it can be applied to most versions of XP and Longhorn. The OOBE timer (Out Of Box Experience) is like a trial timer. Try it for 15 days or whatever and if you don't activate, then it disables XP.

    Front Page is an additional feature in Microsoft Office that allows you to author web pages and upload files to an ftp server. You can do some editing and site copying in it as well.

    In the end, you'll have to decide what you're comfortable with. If you have litle knowledge in OS's, then you might be better to go with the integrated SP1a and get a feel for it and some experience before trying reg hacks and custom install configurations.

    For the problems you're having with ME, if you can't do a system restore with the original media, then I don't know what else you can do aside from what I suggested above. As far as I know, a restore should only overwrite the system files and not the installed program files but I may be wrong. I do more System replacements with ME than I do repairs.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •