Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Firefox Problem Relating to Tabs

  1. #1
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    So lately firefox has been making me really angry. I have the latest version and this is what it does.


    Let's say I have 12 tabs open. And I'm on google in one of the tabs, then I click on a link, it *should* open in a new tab, but instead it decides to just open the page in any of my existing tabs making me lose the website that that tab was on.


    This happens a lot and it's really tough when I'm uploading something to sendspace in one tab, and all of a sudden one of my links in some other tab, opens in the sendspace tab and I lose my transfer..


    This also happens when I have multiple instances of Firefox running. It's like a guessing game to see which Firefox window it chooses to open a new tab/use an existing tab and go to the website.
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Barbarossa's Avatar mostly harmless
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Over here!
    Posts
    19,631
    Wow! I've never had that. How bizarre.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    BANNED BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,091
    any extension installed ?

    Tools -> Add-ons .. any listed there ??

    follow the instructions here

    http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

    Firefox's own safe mode is a good way to find out if an extension/theme or user set preferences are causing your problem




    follow the instructions in the article to see if that problem is still happening in firefox's own safe mode !

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    The addons I have installed are these

    AdBlock Plus .7.5.2
    Download Status Bar .9.5.1
    FoxyTunes 2.9.5
    OpenDownload 1.0.0
    Tabs Open Relative 0.3

    You know what, after you say check my add ons, it must be Tabs Open Relative making it act weird. I'm going to uninstall it and see if I continue to have strange problems.

    Thanks!
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    It's a security issue.

    The idea is to stop a web page opening multiple tabs/windows outside your control, so only one new tab/window is permitted.

    Reinstalling doesn't help, and it is nothing to do with your add-ons.

    What's really needed is an exceptions list to allow trusted sites to open multiple tabs/windows, but I haven't seen anything that will do this.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    that seems odd. i can open 20 tabs off of one page and leave them all open no problem without this happening.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Yes, it is related to the way Google's links work.

    If the link specifies "target=new", then you can have as many as you want.

    Google links specify "target=nw", and that invokes the single new tab/window restriction.
    Last edited by lynx; 10-11-2007 at 01:56 PM.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •