Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: OK so now Im a bit confused

  1. #1
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    I started messing aroung with Overclocking a bit. My understanding that Overclocking will raise the tem of the processor considerably. Well Assuming I am correct I have my Core 2 duo 2.13 running at 2.66 now and the temp dropped by7 degrees? WTF?

    Also When I open it in Everest I get this

    --------[ EVEREST Ultimate Edition 2006 (c) 2003-2007 Lavalys, Inc. ]---------------------------------------------------

    Version EVEREST v3.50.851 Beta
    Benchmark Module 2.1.169.0
    Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
    Report Type Quick Report
    Computer ANIMAL (Animal)
    Generator Admin
    Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.1.2600 (WinXP Retail)
    Date 2007-11-10
    Time 22:55


    --------[ Overclock ]---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    CPU Properties:
    CPU Type DualCore Intel Core 2 Duo E6400
    CPU Alias Allendale
    CPU Stepping B2
    Engineering Sample No
    CPUID CPU Name Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6400 @ 2.13GHz
    CPUID Revision 000006F6h
    Core Voltage 1.262 V

    CPU Speed:
    CPU Clock 2128.2 MHz (original: 2133 MHz)
    CPU Multiplier 8.0x
    CPU FSB 266.0 MHz (original: 266 MHz)
    Memory Bus 266.0 MHz
    DRAM:FSB Ratio 1:1

    CPU Cache:
    L1 Code Cache 32 KB per core
    L1 Data Cache 32 KB per core
    L2 Cache 2 MB (On-Die, ASC, Full-Speed)

    Motherboard Properties:
    Motherboard ID 63-291-0000010-00101111-091707-VIA$75D8U291_775DUAL-VSTA BIOS P3.00
    Motherboard Name ASRock 775Dual-VSTA (4 PCI, 1 PCI-E x16, 1 AGP, 2 DDR DIMM, 2 DDR2 DIMM, Audio, LAN)

    Chipset Properties:
    Motherboard Chipset VIA Apollo PT880 Pro / PT880 Ultra / PT894 / PT894 Pro
    Memory Timings 4-4-4-12 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
    Command Rate (CR) 2T

    SPD Memory Modules:
    DIMM1: OCZ OCZ26671024ELGEGXT 1 GB DDR2-667 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-15 @ 333 MHz) (4-5-5-13 @ 270 MHz) (3-3-3-9 @ 200 MHz)
    DIMM3: OCZ OCZ26671024ELGEGXT 1 GB DDR2-667 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-15 @ 333 MHz) (4-5-5-13 @ 270 MHz) (3-3-3-9 @ 200 MHz)

    BIOS Properties:
    System BIOS Date 09/17/07
    Video BIOS Date 04/05/06
    DMI BIOS Version P3.00

    Graphics Processor Properties:
    Video Adapter nVIDIA GeForce 7300 LE
    GPU Code Name G72LE (PCI Express x16 10DE / 01D1, Rev A1)
    GPU Clock 450 MHz (original: 450 MHz)
    Memory Clock 648 MHz (original: 324 MHz, overclock: 100%)
    What concerns me is this
    CPU Clock 2128.2 MHz (original: 2133 MHz)
    Why is it running below the original if when Bios starts it says 2.66

    Also if anyone sees something else I should be concerned with feel free to let me know

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    mr. nails's Avatar m@D @n!m3 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    austin, tx
    Posts
    3,588
    what does cpuz say? small prog for verification purposes.
    Alamo Drafthouse!

    Last Game Completed: Aliens: Colonial Marines (PC) 10-13-13
    Now Playing: Paper Mario 64
    Total Games Completed: 503

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    CPU Clock 2128.2 MHz (original: 2133 MHz)
    Correct me if I am wrong-
    Your CPU's original Clock Speed was 2.1Gig, and from your log it is running at about 2.1Gig...rather a bit less. Where is OC effect?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    CPUZ says
    -------------------------
    CPU-Z version 1.41
    -------------------------

    Processors Map
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Number of processors 1
    Number of threads 2

    Processor 0
    -- Core 0
    -- Thread 0
    -- Core 1
    -- Thread 0


    Processors Information
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Processor 1 (ID = 0)
    Number of cores 2
    Number of threads 2 (max 2)
    Name Intel Core 2 Duo E6400
    Codename Conroe
    Specification Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6400 @ 2.13GHz
    Package Socket 775 LGA (platform ID = 0h)
    CPUID 6.F.6
    Extended CPUID 6.F
    Core Stepping B2
    Technology 65 nm
    Core Speed 2128.2 MHz (8.0 x 266.0 MHz)
    Rated Bus speed 1064.1 MHz
    Stock frequency 2133 MHz
    Instructions sets MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, EM64T
    L1 Data cache 2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L1 Instruction cache 2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L2 cache 2048 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    FID/VID Control yes
    FID range 6.0x - 8.0x
    max VID 1.150 V
    Features , VT
    I changed the clock in my bios and when I boot my bios screen says 2.66
    I am posting here because I cant see where the OC was

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Looks to me like the 266 you are seeing is the FSB
    With your multiplier set at 8.0, the core speed is in fact the 2.13 Ghz.
    To obtain the core speed of 2.66Ghz, you could either move your multiplier to 10.0, or increase FSB, I'd recommend raising multiplier to 9, testing stability and temps, then try 10 if everything is stable.
    Good luck

    EDIT Core speed is FSBxmultiplier

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    I hve tried resetting my bios to default and when I do my CPU only runs @ 2.4Ghz WTF I do need to do some more tests but no matter what its a 2.13 processor shouldn't it run @ 2.13?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    harrycary's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Omaha, Ne USA
    Posts
    1,078
    You should really do more research into this before going any further. I don't believe the best/safest answers will be found here...

    Try this forum...http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/

    Be sure to have you CPU model, Motherboard model and type of memory info handy.

    But, did you tweak your core voltage? This most certainly is necessary when overclocking.
    (it's like building a bigger motor for your car but not upgrading to a high volume fuel pump)

    My only advise is to proceed slowly and in small steps as you can easily ruin your CPU.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by Detale View Post
    I hve tried resetting my bios to default and when I do my CPU only runs @ 2.4Ghz WTF I do need to do some more tests but no matter what its a 2.13 processor shouldn't it run @ 2.13?
    Man, you're not the only one confused here...I have no idea what's going on and clearly, neither does your processor.

    How did you reset your BIOS?
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    I reset the values to default. I realized I cannot set the multiplier from my Mobo nor can I change the voltage.I have read a bunch of stuff saying I can increase the FSB but that will not do much without the other two being increased also. So it would appear my overclocking expedition is @ a halt until I get me the new Mobo

    However there is a problem with my processor I think. If my bios settings are @ the default factory settings all programs show my cpu running @ 2.04 but it is a 2.13 processor, the thing is kind of old now about a year and a half so I'm sure I don't have a warranty anymore. I did increase the FSB to 300 from 266 and I get my 2.13 now with no heat increase but something is surely fucked here. If there is any info I can post please guys let me know any program logs you need I will get them because I am novice at best and for the most part I'm tinkering around here and I can't figure this out

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    sexydingo's Avatar ☆Trance Addict☆ BT Rep: +8BT Rep +8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Shades
    Age
    36
    Posts
    283
    You need to set your processor speed manually in the BIOS. Motherboards with not always be able to set it automatically for you. Search around on some hardware sites to find the optimal overclock settings for your processor. Core2 Duo's have very nice overclockability right out of the box and on the default cooler as well. And yes, your board will have a great affect on your overclockability. Many suers pick specific boards just for that fact. As for your heat, you should see too much of a change in heat until you up your voltage. As you overclock to higher speeds you'll eventually need to up your voltage to keep the processor stable at those speeds. This increased voltage will be your main source of increased heat, and then cooling becomes a factor.


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •