Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: any experience with rtorrent?

  1. #1
    Computer Scientist BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    180
    hey i was wondering if anyone here has a lot of experience with rtorrent and could answer a quick question of mine.

    i have rtorrent setup on my vps to download torrents with but the problem is that if i let it get above a certain download rate it seems that this causes it to crash--and no error is given.

    could this be a problem with rtorrent or is it more likely a problem with my limited amount of memory on the vps (256mb)

    any feedback is appreciated, thanks!

    filonome
    just a guy who doesn't like to pay for movies....or video games...or software...or television...or music...you know, just like everyone else!

  2. BitTorrent   -   #2
    fstokebanget's Avatar j-e-ib BT Rep: +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    planet torrent
    Posts
    1,278
    even you use linux with the lightweight torrent client like rtorrent, in my opinion having the ram only 256mb isn't enough at all, maybe if you use it on a slow connection it'll work, but on 100/100 even it's shared by a number, still doesn't enough, try to increase your ram

  3. BitTorrent   -   #3
    Computer Scientist BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    180
    ok that's what i figured, ill just keep it tuned down for now i guess, i'll buy more ram next month.
    just a guy who doesn't like to pay for movies....or video games...or software...or television...or music...you know, just like everyone else!

  4. BitTorrent   -   #4
    fstokebanget's Avatar j-e-ib BT Rep: +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60BT Rep +60
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    planet torrent
    Posts
    1,278
    just curious, on what hosting is your vps ? thanks

  5. BitTorrent   -   #5
    DanielleD87's Avatar bunny
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    north cali
    Posts
    841
    have you tried turning your buffer up? I know doing so will use more memory but 256megs should be fine to run rtorrent on. seems kind of awkward it is carshing. my guess is the hard drive is locking up, but i'm not expert with rtorrent. i kind of ditched it for azureus (i know I'm lame lol)

  6. BitTorrent   -   #6
    Computer Scientist BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    180
    please explain what you mean "turning your buffer up"
    just a guy who doesn't like to pay for movies....or video games...or software...or television...or music...you know, just like everyone else!

  7. BitTorrent   -   #7
    DanielleD87's Avatar bunny
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    north cali
    Posts
    841
    like the bigger the buffer the more memory is used and the less hdd is used. at high speeds a hard drive will choke unless the mem is buffered a god amount.

  8. BitTorrent   -   #8
    Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    17
    First I will show you my VPS specifications:
    VM: Xen
    OS: CentOS 5
    Mem: 256ram / 512 swap
    Client: rTorrent 0.7.9 + libTorrent 0.11.9 (custom build)
    Other Things I'm running, sshd, httpd - apache, ftpd - vsftp, bnc - psybnc
    identd - oidentd. I think I covered everything... (I'm NOT running any kind of VNCs)

    I'm running rTorrent successfully without any glitches (well,
    sometimes when the transfer rates are very high, I get errors
    related to Disk Buffer, and the chunks are dropped). I can
    download more then 5 torrents simultaneously with out any
    problems, and I can download big torrents (the biggest
    torrent I've downloaded was 11gb)

    The client itself never crashed on me. I'm running it inside
    'screen' so if I got disconnected, the client will be still alive
    inside the screen. (and I recover it with screen -r).

    please supply more information, like conf (.rtorrent.conf) logs
    and specs.
    Last edited by iTK98; 12-20-2007 at 12:59 AM. Reason: no vnc!

  9. BitTorrent   -   #9
    Computer Scientist BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    180
    ok well how do i turn my buffer up?
    just a guy who doesn't like to pay for movies....or video games...or software...or television...or music...you know, just like everyone else!

  10. BitTorrent   -   #10
    Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    17
    supply

    Code:
    cat /proc/sys/fs/file-max
    and
    Code:
    ulimit -n
    (Make sure you're running this with the same user whose
    running the rTorrent application)

    Read my previous post, and supply the specs and .rtorrent.rc.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •