Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Have question

  1. #1
    jonny81985's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +18BT Rep +18BT Rep +18BT Rep +18
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Buffalo
    Age
    32
    Posts
    501
    Hey guys something really weird is happening when i do speed tests. I have a 15/2 line and on utorrent i max out at about 1.8 megabytes/s down 230 Kbps/s up. It always runs at these speeds but when i do i speed test the websites say I am only running at abot a 1.4/1 Megabit line.

    Can anyone think of a reason for this... Like i said my actual dl and Ul is much faster but it is not testing to these speeds.


    Thanks for ne help i really appreciate it

    Also how do i put screen shots in posts or in my signature and how do i put the speed test image in there too. Sorry for all the ?'s but please help me out i'll really appreciate it


    thanks
    Jon
    Last edited by jonny81985; 01-16-2008 at 01:34 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  2. BitTorrent   -   #2
    zxion's Avatar Taste Good BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    222
    john what speed test site you using?
    try using this
    http://myspeed.visualware.com/

    I'm assuming you have verizon fios 15/2 package.
    But looking at your utorrent speeds, that is spot on for the 15/2 connection you got.

  3. BitTorrent   -   #3
    jonny81985's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +18BT Rep +18BT Rep +18BT Rep +18
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Buffalo
    Age
    32
    Posts
    501
    Yea i got really slow results on there too. Lol my upload was actually 5 times faster then my DL which is weird. That test says I am only dling at .5 megabit/s which i know isnt true because it runs at 15 megabit on uttorent. Can you think of a reason for this?? I shut down uttorent while testing to get accurate results but it doesnt seem to work


    Thanks for your help

    Jon

  4. BitTorrent   -   #4
    zxion's Avatar Taste Good BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    222
    well if you use speedtest.net or the link I gave you above, it really depends where your location is and where you are doing the speedtest. If you did a speedtest from your house to across the street , that would be the most accurate result.

    But try googling Fios Optimize and there should be a patch or some program they run so it can patch your computer to fully utilize the speed properly.

  5. BitTorrent   -   #5
    jonny81985's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +18BT Rep +18BT Rep +18BT Rep +18
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Buffalo
    Age
    32
    Posts
    501
    Quote Originally Posted by zxion View Post
    well if you use speedtest.net or the link I gave you above, it really depends where your location is and where you are doing the speedtest. If you did a speedtest from your house to across the street , that would be the most accurate result.

    But try googling Fios Optimize and there should be a patch or some program they run so it can patch your computer to fully utilize the speed properly.

    Thanks for your help man.... how do i give you rep as i feel u deserve it but im not sure how??

    Thanks again

    Jon

  6. BitTorrent   -   #6
    Zaxx's Avatar Ol' Skool P2P BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    In The Space Between...
    Posts
    727
    Had the same issue when I went from a 6Mb to a 16Mb comcast connection. Found out via broadbandreports speed test 'tweak tool'. Turns out that XP's default RWIN setting is way to small for these fast connections.

    Here's the test:

    http://www.dslreports.com/tweaks

    If it tells you that RWIN is too low...go here to figure out what it should be:

    http://www.dslreports.com/faq/6181

    Good luck...
    "It's not what ya got, it's what you give."
    Please do not PM me for invites. Thx.


  7. BitTorrent   -   #7
    jonny81985's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +18BT Rep +18BT Rep +18BT Rep +18
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Buffalo
    Age
    32
    Posts
    501
    Quote Originally Posted by Zaxx View Post
    Had the same issue when I went from a 6Mb to a 16Mb comcast connection. Found out via broadbandreports speed test 'tweak tool'. Turns out that XP's default RWIN setting is way to small for these fast connections.

    Here's the test:

    http://www.dslreports.com/tweaks

    If it tells you that RWIN is too low...go here to figure out what it should be:

    http://www.dslreports.com/faq/6181

    Good luck...
    Thanks man that really helped it fixed everything

    jon

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •