Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Can someone give me the short answer please

  1. #1
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    Finnally I saved up the money.I am going to get a new processor in a week or so and I need some advice from you Hardware Guru's. Actually I need the short answer because my brain hurts from trying to read the answers myself. I need to try and find out which processors are better/faster. Im not sure if I want to go quad or dual core.I'm still undecided if I am going to need it or not.

    Warning LOADS of questions ahead


    Then there are these two that seem to have the same specs

    Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80570E8400 - Retail

    Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80557E6850 - Retail

    and the one I am leaning towards as of now

    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor Model BX80562Q6600 - Retail
    About this one though do you guys think I should cough up the extra cash and go for the Q6700 running @ 2.6Ghz?


    Now I understand the the names Conroe and Wolfdale have something to do with the Die they are from but how do you know which one is newer/faster/better?

    Would I be able to use my 1066 Ram with a 1333 Processor?

    Also I am open to getting a new Motherboard even though the one I have now is only a month or two old. but If you guys think the X38 chipset is worth it I might fit it in the budget.

    As of now I have:

    Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 Conroe 2.13GHz


    GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L

    Crucial Ballistix 4GB (4 x 1GB) 240-Pin SDRAM DDR2 1066

    My total budget is around $600 - $800
    I'd prefer 6 but I could wait a week and get up to 8
    Also I'd like to keep the ram but the Mobo was only $100 bucks I'd like to keep it but if I could deff get a better one if the X38 chipset is way better.


    and if theres a little money left over Id like to get a new PSU as well
    CORSAIR CMPSU-620HX ( Because Clocker said so)

    In a nutshell guys I don't know what I should do here. I got between $600 and $800 bucks to spend to upgrade my rig. I need a CPU, and maybe a MoBo and PSU.?

    What do you guys think I should do here? I just want a good fast rig that will hold me over for a while to do some serious Downloading and some minor to moderate Video encoding/burning.. As always you guys rock at this stuff so show me the magic boys. Thanks


  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    I'm picking up the E8400 tonight (Microcenter has 'em for $185).
    Getting the same Gigabyte board you already have.
    Already have the Corsair PSU.

    Leaning towards this RAM.

    People are getting those Wolfsdales up to 4.2GHz on stock voltage and air.
    I've seen 4.5GHz with water and more juice.
    These things are monsters.

    Don't see any point to quads yet.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    Damn I dont have a Microcenter near me, closest is about 1. hours away. The web site doesn't have them there either. Im gonna have to pay $220 from newegg

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    It's an in-store special- no rebates, either.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    OOO not that it matters because I have the Blue Orb II but I get a free
    ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
    With my purchase and free shipping too.

    Do you think it's better than my Zalman knockoff BLue Orb

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    I had an AC Freezer when they first came out and it rocked.
    Unfortunately, they had a bit of a QC problem with the (very) proprietary fans and our return rate was about 30% due to fan failure.

    If it works out of the box you're good...it'll be fine.
    All ours bad ones were DOA, so you'll know right away.

    If yours is good, I'd highly recommend it over the blue orb.
    The Freezer is quite efficient and damn near silent.

    Edit: look here for some OC results...
    Last edited by clocker; 01-29-2008 at 11:45 PM.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    OK SOLD on the E8400. 4.2, 4.4!! Looks good Real good,

    1 warning about the board. I found some complaints about it saying that it had problems when all 4 ram slots were filled. If I OC it to 1200 memtest says it has a bunch of errors I thought it was the ram at first but when I only used 2 slots single or dual channel all the sticks were fine, but when all 4 are in the problems started with OCing. Stock speeds were fine all around using all 4 so it seems only when it OC's something goes wrong. Im still looking into it.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    That's why I plan on 2 x 2GB.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    OOO you smart smart man. I just bought these though damnit!! eh maybe I'll get the 2GB sticks too and build a 2nd computer for the wife. So you say the Geil ram is good?

    Also have you heard much about the X38 chipset? Im still thinking about getting the better Gigabyte board too I dunno

    GIGABYTE GA-X38-DS4 LGA 775

    then just my ram is 1066 but thats OK though....right?

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    My only experience with Geil is the 4 x 1GB sticks that I put in my iRAM where they ran fine.
    I'm sure that by the time I form any firm opinions of DDR2 stuff it'll be obsolete.

    Your current RAM should be fine and if not, the wife benefits, eh?
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •