Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: ram upgrade

  1. #1
    ac19 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    60
    thinking about upgrading to 4gb of ram and running xp pro64 will i see much performance increase from xp home with 2gb i am currently running?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Performance increase in what?`
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    ac19 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    60
    just generally games, apps, net browsin etc

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Well, I'm running Pro x64 and four gigs of RAM and think it's great.

    If you have a copy of the x64 OS and are using (relatively) cheap DDR2 memory, it's worth a try.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    InXS's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    FTN's Entrance
    Posts
    633
    Quote Originally Posted by andrew.cook View Post
    thinking about upgrading to 4gb of ram and running xp pro64 will i see much performance increase from xp home with 2gb i am currently running?
    You Mat Not Notice Alot, But There Is A Big Diff

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Quote Originally Posted by InXS View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by andrew.cook View Post
    thinking about upgrading to 4gb of ram and running xp pro64 will i see much performance increase from xp home with 2gb i am currently running?
    You Mat Not Notice Alot, But There Is A Big Diff
    I Can't Believe You Use A Capital Letter At The Beginning Of Every Word In All Of Your Posts!


    Anyway, I did notice a large difference from 2gb to 4gb of RAM. I am, however, using the resource hogging Windows Vista.
    I guess it depends on your usage. I'd say monitor the usage of your 2gb, if you feel it is insufficient or the majority is being used, then try 4gb. If you are only using 20% of your 2gb, there will be literally no advantage of switching to 4gb.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Games, not much if any. That depends more on your video card , then processor then ram....depending on the game.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Bionic's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +22BT Rep +22BT Rep +22BT Rep +22BT Rep +22
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Dubai/London
    Posts
    818
    More Ram faster the download.
    2 Ram = 1 game playing with msn and uTorrent open, is enough but heats your motherboard abit. I've 2GB Ram at the moment but getting another 2 next month, maybe.
    Twitter: @alhassoni
    Stay tuned. I could say something brilliant at any moment.

    DL Speed: 1MBps | UL Speed: 228KBps

    Speaks: English, Arabic, German, Tagalog(Filipino), Spanish and Chinese

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Poster BT Rep: +11BT Rep +11BT Rep +11
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    484
    Unless your some 3D Modeling Guru or CAD designer, running other apps along side something like this, there is nothing out there that is going to benefit from 4GB right now.

    Then again if you're running that crap OS Vista it might help for gaming...

    But you said you're running XP, so you don't need it right now, just a waste...

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by DasFox View Post
    But you said you're running XP, so you don't need it right now, just a waste...
    If he installs Pro x64 the system will actually address all four GB and given the absurdly low prices of DDR2 memory right now, it would almost be silly NOT to have 4GB.
    The extra RAM would be beneficial should he move to Vista x64 as well.

    In a couple of weeks I'll have a copy of Vista x64 to play with and am considering another 4GB (for a total of 8!!) just because it's cheap and I can...

    In my experience I can't recall a time when memory was this inexpensive, so I figure it's worth exploiting while it lasts.
    God knows, DDR3 is no bargain.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •