Page 19 of 21 FirstFirst ... 9161718192021 LastLast
Results 181 to 190 of 208

Thread: OVH Seedbox & Fedora

  1. #181
    Poster BT Rep: +16BT Rep +16BT Rep +16BT Rep +16
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    211
    Use /home

  2. BitTorrent   -   #182
    I have a question , OVH can only be purchased by European countries? isnt there another way to order them

  3. BitTorrent   -   #183
    Method 1

    To get a Linux Desktop Using Fedora Core 6 [Sexy GUI]
    On this guide all commands are case sensitive]

    Use putty to login to the server.

    Type:
    Code:
    yum groupinstall "X Window System"
    Then allow the transaction list to populate - allow the server to download and install then...
    Type:
    Code:
    yum groupinstall "KDE (K Desktop Environment)"
    Then allow the transaction list to populate - allow the server to download and install

    Now the Fun Bits :S

    Type:
    Code:
    nano /etc/sysconfig/vncservers
    change VNCSERVERS="id:username" [ i use 5:root]
    and ammend VNCSERVERARGS[2]="-geometry <desired_resolution> -nolisten tcp -nohttpd -localhost" [again i used 800x600]

    press [CTRL]&X then say y to save it.
    then type :
    Code:
    vncpasswd
    follow the on screen prompt and choose your password

    Now The tricky bit no1
    Type:
    Code:
    nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    You need to make that file look like this one:

    Code:
    # Xorg configuration created by pyxf86config
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
            Identifier     "Default Layout"
            Screen      0  "Screen" 0 0
            InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    
    EndSection
    Section "Module"
            Load "dbe"
            Load "extmod"
            Load "fbdevhw"
            Load "glx"
            Load "glx"
            Load "freetype"
            Load "type1"
            Load "dri"
            Load "vnc"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
            Identifier  "Keyboard0"
            Driver      "kbd"
            Option      "XkbModel" "pc105"
            Option      "XkbLayout" "fr"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "Videocard0"
            Driver      "sis"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "Screen"
            Device     "VideoCard0"
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Depth     4
                    Modes  "640x480"
            EndSubSection
    Option "SecurityTypes" "VncAuth"
    Option "UserPasswdVerifier" "VncAuth"
    Option "PasswordFile" "/root/.vnc/passwd"
    EndSection
    Section "DRI"
            Group   0
            Mode    0666
    EndSection

    Then:
    Code:
    nano /etc/inittab
    Amend line to read:

    Code:
    id:5:initdefault:
    Press [CTRL]&X and say "Y" to save changes

    Then type

    # init 5
    # startx

    Now you can logon to the server with VNC Viewer and it be {almost} like windows

    Now just install rtorrent [the linux equivlant of utorrent] job done

    Method 2

    Connect via putty
    type nano install.sh [this opens a text editor]
    paste this:
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    # Install crap (php, httpd, mysql)
    echo "Running yum to install some programs... Might take a while"
    yum install httpd gcc yum php pwgen php-devel php-gd php-imap php-ldap php-mysql php-odbc php-pear php-xml php-xmlrpc curl curl-devel perl-libwww-perl imagemagick libxml2 libxml2-devel mysql mysql-server xinetd transmission uudeview
    
    echo "Yum Done"
    
    # Start Mysql
    /etc/init.d/mysqld start > /dev/null 
    
    # Stop Iptables 
    /etc/init.d/iptables stop 
    
    /etc/init.d/xinetd start 
    
    /etc/init.d/httpd restart 
    
    # GlFtpd
    echo "Going to install GLFTP"
    cd ~root > /dev/null
    mkdir installs > /dev/null
    cd ~root/installs > /dev/null
    wget http://www.glftpd.com/files/glftpd-LNX_2.01.tgz > /dev/null
    tar xfz glftpd-LNX_2.01.tgz > /dev/null
    cd ~root/installs/glftpd-LNX_2.01 > /dev/null
    ./installgl.sh
    
    # Torrentflux
    echo "Going to install torrentflux"
    cd ~root/installs > /dev/null
    wget http://www.torrentflux.com/torrentflux_2.3.tar.gz > /dev/null
    tar xfz torrentflux_2.3.tar.gz > /dev/null
    cd ~root/installs/torrentflux_2.3 > /dev/null
     
    mysqladmin create torrentflux > /dev/null 
    mysql torrentflux < ~root/installs/torrentflux_2.3/sql/mysql_torrentflux.sql  > /dev/null
    
    # Generate a password for sql user
    PASS=`pwgen -c -n -s 15 1`
    
    echo "<?php" >> ~root/installs/torrentflux_2.3/html/config.php
    echo '$cfg["db_type"] = "mysql";' >> ~root/installs/torrentflux_2.3/html/config.php
    echo '$cfg["db_host"] = "localhost";' >> ~root/installs/torrentflux_2.3/html/config.php
    echo '$cfg["db_name"] = "torrentflux";' >> ~root/installs/torrentflux_2.3/html/config.php
    echo '$cfg["db_user"] = "root";' >> ~root/installs/torrentflux_2.3/html/config.php
    echo '$cfg["db_pass"] = "'passw0rd'";' >> ~root/installs/torrentflux_2.3/html/config.php
    echo '?>' >> ~root/installs/torrentflux_2.3/html/config.php
    
    mkdir /var/www/html/torrentflux 
    cp -r ~root/installs/torrentflux_2.3/html/* /var/www/html/torrentflux
    chmod 777 /var/www/html/torrentflux/downloads/
    
    # Set the mysql password to the first argument
    mysqladmin -u root password passw0rd > /dev/null
    
    # Restart mysql
    echo "Restarting MySQL"
    /etc/init.d/mysqld restart
    
    # Restart xinetd
    echo "Restarting Xinetd"
    /etc/init.d/xinetd restart
    Then press CTRL & X
    Save it
    then type:
    chmod 777 install.sh
    then type:
    ./install.sh
    Now you should have Flux and FTP

    BUT

    The kimi installs a pathetic amount to the home folder soooooooo

    Dont forget to change your download location via the admin page on flux

    Not had a problem yet with my little kimi

    Hope this helps someone

    Also - Sarge - you went for the wine option - how is working out for you bud?

  4. BitTorrent   -   #184
    koliber2
    Guest
    Hi, Help! i try order new server via ovh.fr/ovh.co.uk and when i insert my nickhandle+pass i receive this:
    The billing country for your order doesn't correspond to the country of your customer account.


    i come from PL. I dont want order box via ovh.pl becouse they have stupid rules.. any idea?

  5. BitTorrent   -   #185
    WHY SO SERIOUS? BT Rep: +18BT Rep +18BT Rep +18BT Rep +18
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,165
    Ok so i have a question, ive read this whole thread, tried some trix and yet i cant get past 60kbs upload!!! sometimes for an hour or 2 ill see close to 1mb but thats all, download speed is usually fine, i tried limiting it, played around with the cache but nothing seems to work.
    ok, yes im running it on a windows 2003 server and as much as it sux, thats an excuse perhaps to get poor performances but not like the ones i get.
    so what do i do (please dont say switch to linux, that is not an option for me ).

  6. BitTorrent   -   #186
    fatcat69's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +25BT Rep +25BT Rep +25BT Rep +25BT Rep +25
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    spamming ur mom and sis.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,686
    Quote Originally Posted by koliber2 View Post
    Hi, Help! i try order new server via ovh.fr/ovh.co.uk and when i insert my nickhandle+pass i receive this:
    The billing country for your order doesn't correspond to the country of your customer account.


    i come from PL. I dont want order box via ovh.pl becouse they have stupid rules.. any idea?
    You dont have a choice.

    I know people who have boxes from ovh.pl and have no issues at all

    Quote Originally Posted by nbo View Post
    Ok so i have a question, ive read this whole thread, tried some trix and yet i cant get past 60kbs upload!!! sometimes for an hour or 2 ill see close to 1mb but thats all, download speed is usually fine, i tried limiting it, played around with the cache but nothing seems to work.
    ok, yes im running it on a windows 2003 server and as much as it sux, thats an excuse perhaps to get poor performances but not like the ones i get.
    so what do i do (please dont say switch to linux, that is not an option for me ).
    Well, first make sure its not the following:

    A. On your main seedbox sites (ScT and SCC) you will only see 1mb/s or higher for maybe a minute on tv shows, maybe 4-10minutes on movies etc etc. If you are grabbing the torrents way after pre...there are probably too many seeders already and you wont get faster. So try a site that doesnt have many seedboxes and lots of users (revtt and TL are best places to see) and just download a popular movie right after it is pre'd and see what speed you get there.

    B. Have you verified all the settings are correct? IE, you have a good open port, torrents are all active. etc etc

    C. Disk ovrerload might be screwing with you...check to see.

    D. Seeding too many torrents? Try just seeding 1 torrent that you downloaded right after it pre'd to see what speeds you get. Too many torrents can mess with speeds.


    If its not the above, then you might have an hardware issue.

    Who is your provider, and what box do you have with them?
    Last edited by fatcat69; 03-05-2008 at 04:08 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  7. BitTorrent   -   #187
    WHY SO SERIOUS? BT Rep: +18BT Rep +18BT Rep +18BT Rep +18
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,165
    hey thanks for the response

    A- ive tested all sites...
    B- i think so, i dont know what a "good" port is, how do i check?
    i figured if its running is opened...
    C- ive changed it from 150 and down to 30, didnt seem to change a thing.
    D- tried 1, and 2 and 3 and more...:\

    I have the kimisurf of course...
    thanks

  8. BitTorrent   -   #188
    SgtMajor's Avatar Shut up u Lovely Boi BT Rep: +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100BT Rep +100
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,968
    Quote Originally Posted by mummysboy View Post
    BUT

    The kimi installs a pathetic amount to the home folder soooooooo

    Dont forget to change your download location via the admin page on flux

    Not had a problem yet with my little kimi

    Hope this helps someone

    Also - Sarge - you went for the wine option - how is working out for you bud?
    Wine & utorrent webui works for me, I even got the free FTP client FileZilla to max out to my home connection and to my other seedbox, and seeing it fly at 11MB/S to Hosting.ie rocks

    I might even give up my precious hosting.ie for another OVH product. this time paid for!

    Quote Originally Posted by nbo View Post
    hey thanks for the response

    A- ive tested all sites...
    B- i think so, i dont know what a "good" port is, how do i check?
    i figured if its running is opened...
    C- ive changed it from 150 and down to 30, didnt seem to change a thing.
    D- tried 1, and 2 and 3 and more...:\

    I have the kimisurf of course...
    thanks
    Windows or nix box?
    Last edited by SgtMajor; 03-05-2008 at 04:20 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
    Yes Sir, I'm Right On It!!

  9. BitTorrent   -   #189
    fatcat69's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +25BT Rep +25BT Rep +25BT Rep +25BT Rep +25
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    spamming ur mom and sis.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,686
    Quote Originally Posted by nbo View Post
    hey thanks for the response

    A- ive tested all sites...
    B- i think so, i dont know what a "good" port is, how do i check?
    i figured if its running is opened...
    C- ive changed it from 150 and down to 30, didnt seem to change a thing.
    D- tried 1, and 2 and 3 and more...:\

    I have the kimisurf of course...
    thanks

    To check, you can just go through utorrents speed guide thing, and it says test port...but it is probably open.


    My guess is that either you got bad hardware...or you are trying to seed junk. its a little late to hit prime time...but id say if you grab ...for example...lost right after it pre's and you atleast dont get a 3-5 ratio on it...then its hardware related.

    Might be that 256 ram just isnt enough for torrenting on windows..thats why i learned nix for this freebie.

  10. BitTorrent   -   #190
    WHY SO SERIOUS? BT Rep: +18BT Rep +18BT Rep +18BT Rep +18
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,165
    ya, ports are ok, i actually grabbed a lost last week 4 minutes after it came out.
    ended up with 350MB dl and 1.1GB upload after 4 days of slooooow ul speed that my home connection can beat...
    i realize that the 256mb sux with windows but utorrent does not take up that much memory, and even when i try 1 torrent from TL which is new and has 1 seeder and 37 leechers i should still get at least a megabite and not the puny 12kps that i get...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •