Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Hosting-IE VPS

  1. #1
    necromantic's Avatar ♫ ♪ ♪ ♫ ♪ ♫ ♫ ♪ ♫ ♪ BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    595
    Ok here's the question

    VDS Raptor 1+ (master server hosts 3 Virtual Dedicated Servers)
    Processor: 2.66 GHz
    Memory: 512 MB
    70 GB Webspace

    or

    VPS Raptor 5 (master server hosts 5 Virtual Dedicated Servers)
    Processor Power: 2,0 GHz
    Memory: 1 GB RAM
    60 GB Webspace

    I'm leaning towards the Raptor 1+ right now, I'm just a little concerned about the 512mb ram. Any input?

  2. BitTorrent   -   #2
    reno55's Avatar n00b BT Rep: +8BT Rep +8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    142
    If you are running linux the 512 will be ok with windows forget about it you need at least 1gb.

    I currently have the raptor 5 vps but I am switching to the dedic 581 was not happy with the performance on the raptor 5.

  3. BitTorrent   -   #3
    necromantic's Avatar ♫ ♪ ♪ ♫ ♪ ♫ ♫ ♪ ♫ ♪ BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    595
    Good advice Reno, I was hoping 512 would be enough for linux

  4. BitTorrent   -   #4
    cocalait's Avatar Yowsa BT Rep: +17BT Rep +17BT Rep +17BT Rep +17
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    293
    If you're going with Linux, get the box with 512MB ram.

    If you're going with Windows, get the box with 1GB ram.

  5. BitTorrent   -   #5
    necromantic's Avatar ♫ ♪ ♪ ♫ ♪ ♫ ♫ ♪ ♫ ♪ BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    595
    Pffft, what's the point of getting a windows seedbox? I can play solitaire just fine on my desktop lol

  6. BitTorrent   -   #6
    BANNED BT Rep: +25BT Rep +25BT Rep +25BT Rep +25BT Rep +25
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,433
    512mb runs great for my linux box. But it is burstable to 7XX and it is probably not cheap hardware.
    No problems hashing 20GB+ torrents or downloading at 50Mbit/s.

  7. BitTorrent   -   #7
    If you are running linux the 512 will be ok with windows forget about it you need at least 1gb.
    Linux or not for torrent Rabtor is not an solution,

    On Rabtor Plus you can even add hdd's adn ram without going to higher package, and work s fine for my torrent,

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •