Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: SATA and SATAII

  1. #1
    Acid_death69's Avatar confuddled?!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Hudders' / Middlesbrough
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,155

    Question Mark

    Hi im getting a new HDD and i came across SATA and SATA II is there any difference or is it the same thing?
    heres the HDD im wanting to get http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...tml?SAM-S100S2

    please let me know what you all think.

    My name is Dan for the people who care!

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    All new drives are SATA2 and all new(er) boards support it.
    The difference is bus width- SATA 2 being faster, so that's definitely what you want.

    The F1 Samsungs are reputedly very fast and very quiet so you should be happy.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    can I curse? FUCK!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,295
    Its a shame raptors aren't SATAII.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Yeah, I guess.
    At this point the only thing Raptors have going for them is the low(er) seek time- and that's not so dramatic anymore.
    Their price/size ratio- which was always absurd- is pretty much untenable these days.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    311
    The bandwidth of SATAII is 3.0 Gbit/s, while the old SATA is 1.5Gbit/s. From my experience, there isn't much of a difference, but any new HDD or motherboard supports SATAII anyway. Regarding the aforementioned HDD (Samsung F1), I would stay away from it as of now. I've heard that it has many errors out of the box.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    If your existing mobo only supports SATA I (1.5Gbps) you will have to jumper the drive down to SATA I standard.

    That drive looks rather expensive though, try this instead:
    http://www.cclonline.com/product-inf...ufacturer_id=0

    Depending on just where you live, it may even be close enough for you to call in and pick it up.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Acid_death69's Avatar confuddled?!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Hudders' / Middlesbrough
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,155
    cheers for that lynx. I have a mobo that is only Sata I how do i 'down grade' a HDD?

    My name is Dan for the people who care!

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    can I curse? FUCK!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,295
    The drives usually come with the jumper that downgrades it to SATAI.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    under.zero's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    143
    SATA II it's the best

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    kondrae's Avatar Trance BT Rep: +19BT Rep +19BT Rep +19BT Rep +19
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    726
    All my SATA ll harddrives(seagate) come with a jumper already set to SATA l. In your case, you would just leave the jumper how it come. And if you wanted to change it to SATA ll, all you have to do is remove the jumper completely.

    The different between SATA 1 and 2 are small though right now. and only burst speeds would be probably affected. As stated above, even Raptors dont have SATAll. So dont worry about it being 1.5Gbps vs 3Gbps

    Skitt's Law: "any post correcting an error in another post will contain at least one error itself"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •