Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Vista Ultimate problem

  1. #1
    j2k4's Avatar en(un)lightened
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oh, please...
    Posts
    15,254
    I'm getting this message:

    A Runtime Error has occurred,

    Do you wish to Debug?

    Line: 618

    Error: 'null' is null or not an object


    It then offers Microsoft Script Editor as the only debugging device, which then faults, with the message Cannot create Data Application Folder.

    Wtf?

    Can I fix it with my OEM Dell Vista disc?
    “Think about how stupid the average person is, and then realize that half of 'em are stupider than that.” -George Carlin

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    pifpaf's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    233
    try installing the latest security/bugfixes patches and sp1 if the OS is outdated.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    j2k4's Avatar en(un)lightened
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oh, please...
    Posts
    15,254
    Quote Originally Posted by pifpaf View Post
    try installing the latest security/bugfixes patches and sp1 if the OS is outdated.
    Right, but this is in aid of installing SP1.

    I've been trying to sort this for several weeks; haven't actually done anything except scans, etc., in order to suss why I can't install it - the only indicator something is wrong system-wise is that sys /scanner runs to 43%, but won't complete.

    SP1 doesn't show in updates for me, and I've DLed the multi-language-pack version, but to no avail.

    This Run-Time thingie just came up out of the blue, so-to-speak.
    “Think about how stupid the average person is, and then realize that half of 'em are stupider than that.” -George Carlin

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    惡魔的提倡者
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    743
    Probably a silly question but have you tried http://support.microsoft.com/oas/def...0921&x=15&y=14 ?

    "Free unlimited installation and compatibility support is available for Windows Vista, but only for Service Pack 1 (SP1). This support for SP1 is valid until March 18, 2009. Chat and e-mail support is available only in the United States and Canada. "


    Edit you might have to go through the location page first. http://support.microsoft.com/common/...4&gprid=500921

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    j2k4's Avatar en(un)lightened
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oh, please...
    Posts
    15,254
    Quote Originally Posted by devilsadvocate View Post
    Probably a silly question but have you tried http://support.microsoft.com/oas/def...0921&x=15&y=14 ?

    "Free unlimited installation and compatibility support is available for Windows Vista, but only for Service Pack 1 (SP1). This support for SP1 is valid until March 18, 2009. Chat and e-mail support is available only in the United States and Canada. "


    Edit you might have to go through the location page first. http://support.microsoft.com/common/...4&gprid=500921
    Ah - excellent.

    I'll try that one later today, hopefully...be nice to find out they'd deal with an OE Dell system; I've heard such support only exists for OSs purchased stand-alone style, and these guys prefer you run to Dell, instead.

    Since it's for SP1, however, it may just work.

    Thanks.
    “Think about how stupid the average person is, and then realize that half of 'em are stupider than that.” -George Carlin

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Kev, you could always try making a slipstreamed vLite disc with SP1 integrated.
    I used an OEM Dell Vista disk to do this and was successful- granted, I was not getting any runtime errors beforehand.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    j2k4's Avatar en(un)lightened
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oh, please...
    Posts
    15,254
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker View Post
    Kev, you could always try making a slipstreamed vLite disc with SP1 integrated.
    I used an OEM Dell Vista disk to do this and was successful- granted, I was not getting any runtime errors beforehand.
    Well, I suppose I could try that if you've already done it with OEM.

    What's vlite?

    All I remember is nlite...
    “Think about how stupid the average person is, and then realize that half of 'em are stupider than that.” -George Carlin

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    vLite is nLite for Vista, silly person.

    Diabolical, indeed.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    j2k4's Avatar en(un)lightened
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oh, please...
    Posts
    15,254
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker View Post
    vLite is nLite for Vista, silly person.

    Diabolical, indeed.
    I knew that.

    Since about 1524, I knew that.
    “Think about how stupid the average person is, and then realize that half of 'em are stupider than that.” -George Carlin

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    惡魔的提倡者
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    743
    So did you get the problem fixed?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •