Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Installing new os

  1. #1
    ac19 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    60
    if i want to install a new os is there a way i can do this without loosing all my stuff on hdd - movies, music etc? thanks

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Tanuki's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Age
    53
    Posts
    54
    Yes.
    AceTorrents --- What else?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by andrew.cook View Post
    if i want to install a new os is there a way i can do this without loosing all my stuff on hdd - movies, music etc? thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Tanuki View Post
    Yes.
    But apparently he won't tell you what it is.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Tanuki's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Age
    53
    Posts
    54
    I think my answer is fitting the question.
    AceTorrents --- What else?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    panoli's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +6BT Rep +6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    396
    ya u can by bavking up ur daya in C drive to anther drive

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    I guess you mean to format and reinstall or you what to try a new O/S like Ubuntu ? Which I tried today , so easy when you can dual boot or just run of the cd .


    Andy what are you trying to do ?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    ac19 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    60
    to format and reinstall a new o/s if at all possible

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    MaaxHimself's Avatar Borat Sagdiyev BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    687
    Vista install gives you the option to upgrade and backup your files automatically.
    I don't recommend Vista

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Quote Originally Posted by andrew.cook View Post
    to format and reinstall a new o/s if at all possible
    Well then just back up your files as panoli suggested to dvd , another HDD . Just make sure you have your Mobo drivers especially lan and format .


    Hey if your hardware supports it maybe try something new , Vista , Linux ? There's enough people on the forum to help you , many enjoy it .



    Link :

    http://lifehacker.com/software/windo...tch-157578.php

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n0cop_am1WM
    Last edited by peat moss; 08-11-2008 at 06:26 PM.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Why don't you use vmware or virtualbox (free) you can install multiple OS without loosing your data.
    it's pretty easy... otherwise if you don't want to use virtualisation software , just partition you Hard drive in multiple drives , move your sensitive data in one of them , finally install OSX or LInux in a dual boot with xp or vista , a good boot manager and it should do it great.
    if you need more details about dual-boot concerning OSX and XP , I have a screencast about it , I can send it to you....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •