Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: HDD or mobo starting to go???

  1. #1
    Acid_death69's Avatar confuddled?!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Hudders' / Middlesbrough
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,155
    Hey all,
    Ive been having problems with my pc recently for one that it doesnt seem to like my 8800GT.
    Anyways today i was watching a film and then my pc froze, to be fair this nothing new to me as it seems to do it everyday now (crappy mobo). Anyway i restarted it and it posted fine then it went to check the systems and then at the bottom of the page it said boot from disk twice. It normally says this but it just stays there, i give it around 15 mins each time to sort it self out with no prevail
    Anyway i tried putting in the OS disk to see if it could fix the errors, there were none. Tried doing a system restore, for some reason it said there are'nt any restore points!
    So i thought hmmm could be my mobo not like my GPU so i switched it out for my old ATI x1550 and shot that in, it normally works but didnt this time!
    Atm im on my mums pc checking my HDD's for any errors. But the wierd thing is i can access them! surely if there was something wrong with them i would'nt be able to.
    My specs are
    crappy old winfast 6100 (i think) mobo (1-2 years old)
    Western digital 80GB HDD (4-5 years old)
    Samsung Spin point 500GB HDD
    OS is vista 32bit home premium.
    anything else you need to know let me know
    Thanks for any help you lot can give

    My name is Dan for the people who care!

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Without any reason other than my trusty Magic 8 Ball, I'm gonna say motherboard.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Without any reason other than my trusty Magic 8 Ball, I'm gonna say motherboard.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Acid_death69's Avatar confuddled?!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Hudders' / Middlesbrough
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,155
    lol why the mobo clocker it aint that old to be fair.
    Also i did the windows crappy test it said there was nothing wrong with it so i put it bk in my machine and it said that there was a boot disk problem.

    My name is Dan for the people who care!

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Didn't you check the hard drive in another machine?
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Acid_death69's Avatar confuddled?!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Hudders' / Middlesbrough
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,155
    yerr i have done, it works in another machine just not in mine:s, just doing a Western digital test thingy so hopefully that'll crop up some results if there is something wrong with my HDD.

    If it is my Mobo does it mean that i have to get a new mobo?

    Did the WD test it passed everything so it looks like my mobo is out. Is there anything i can do to get it working again?
    Last edited by Acid_death69; 09-05-2008 at 01:16 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

    My name is Dan for the people who care!

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Well, the only other thing to try is a different cable and different IDE port (I'm assuming this is a PATA drive for some reason...).
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Acid_death69's Avatar confuddled?!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Hudders' / Middlesbrough
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,155
    i'll try using the IDE cable and shotting in that port, will i have change anything in the bios?

    My name is Dan for the people who care!

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    No.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Acid_death69's Avatar confuddled?!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Hudders' / Middlesbrough
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,155
    just looked it doesnt have an IDE port so can't try that

    My name is Dan for the people who care!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •