Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Norton Systemworks>

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    GLASGOW
    Posts
    294
    I wondered what would be the best way to go about installing Norton SytemWorks and Norton Internet Security on my XP/2000 dual boot system. Do i install to each OS and use the same registration details, or otherwise?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    If you want to run it on both o.s. then yes youll have to install it on both

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    MediaSlayer's Avatar slowly going deaf
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    ur anus
    Posts
    2,783
    shn,
    I run xp with norton system works 2003 also. Here's my question. As it was an option to install ghost with system works, I did shortly after the main system works installation. No problems in the event viewer. Then I installed Roxio, then later disabled roxio because ghost can't operate unless roxio is uninstalled/disabled. Recently I saw this log in the event viewer, what is it asking me to do?
    -


    Event Type: Information
    Event Source: GhostStartService
    Event Category: None
    Event ID: 0
    Date: 9/3/2003
    Time: 7:41:54 PM
    User: N/A
    Computer: *name removed*
    Description:
    The description for Event ID ( 0 ) in Source ( GhostStartService ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE= flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for details. The following information is part of the event: Service started.


    sending fiery missiles in manker's japan's general direction.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    GLASGOW
    Posts
    294
    Originally posted by shn+ 4 September 2003 - 06:44--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (shn &#064; 4 September 2003 - 06:44)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'>If you want to run it on both o.s. then yes youll have to install it on both [/b]

    Ok, i&#39;m sorry. I should have known better. I forgot that on this board you need to explain yourself very clearly, otherwise some sarcastic little twerp will come along and state the obvious, complete with appropriate &#39;you&#39;re so stupid&#39; smilie.

    Anyway..... How&#39;s this...

    <!--QuoteBegin-liquidacid- clarified to avoid sarcasm
    @ 4 September - 21:51
    I wondered what would be the best way to go about installing Norton SytemWorks and Norton Internet Security on my XP/2000 dual boot system. Do i install to each OS and use the same registration details, or otherwise?

    Thanks in advance.
    [/quote]

    Has anybody had experience of this? Will Live Update allow me to update both installations on both OS&#39;s?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    GLASGOW
    Posts
    294
    **BUMP**

    Anyone?

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3,597
    it&#39;s not an intelligent install, It won&#39;t know it&#39;s already been installed.
    I wonder though, why would you install this package with better options available that won&#39;t consume massive resources?

    Norton corporate 8 and Sygate Pro will give you more protection than you need without all the bog and pop ups, dos screen switches, etc.



    @MediaSlayer, don&#39;t install ghost, run it from floppy. Problem solved, no need to disable anything.
    All those "works" programs/utilities can be run from CD as well. Keeps the system much cleaner and more stable.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Originally posted by liquidacid+4 September 2003 - 15:51--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (liquidacid @ 4 September 2003 - 15:51)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'>
    Originally posted by shn@ 4 September 2003 - 06:44
    If you want to run it on both o.s. then yes youll have to install it on both
    Ok, i&#39;m sorry. I should have known better. I forgot that on this board you need to explain yourself very clearly, otherwise some sarcastic little twerp will come along and state the obvious, complete with appropriate &#39;you&#39;re so stupid&#39; smilie.

    Anyway..... How&#39;s this...

    <!--QuoteBegin-liquidacid- clarified to avoid sarcasm
    @ 4 September - 21:51
    I wondered what would be the best way to go about installing Norton SytemWorks and Norton Internet Security on my XP/2000 dual boot system. Do i install to each OS and use the same registration details, or otherwise?

    Thanks in advance.
    Has anybody had experience of this? Will Live Update allow me to update both installations on both OS&#39;s? [/b][/quote]
    If I was being sarcastic you would know it.

    I save my sarcastic remarks for people who are worth it.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    GLASGOW
    Posts
    294
    Originally posted by shn@ 5 September 2003 - 01:32
    If I was being sarcastic you would know it.

    I save my sarcastic remarks for people who are worth it.&nbsp;
    Oooh, handbags.....
    So if you weren&#39;t being sarcastic, i guess you were just being a little twerp.

    Crikey&#33;&#33; God help me if you ever decide that i&#39;m worthy of your biting sarcasm. Let&#39;s hope that day never comes&#33;&#33;&#33;

    Thanks Balamm for your answer; still not quite answering my original question but you&#39;re right- i&#39;m going to install my copy of NAV Pro and i&#39;ll try out Sygate on your recommendation. I can&#39;t run my copy of SystemWorks from CD though, as it&#39;s not an ISO.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Originally posted by liquidacid+4 September 2003 - 18:49--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (liquidacid &#064; 4 September 2003 - 18:49)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteBegin-shn@ 5 September 2003 - 01:32
    If I was being sarcastic you would know it.

    I save my sarcastic remarks for people who are worth it.*
    Oooh, handbags.....
    So if you weren&#39;t being sarcastic, i guess you were just being a little twerp.

    Crikey&#33;&#33; God help me if you ever decide that i&#39;m worthy of your biting sarcasm. Let&#39;s hope that day never comes&#33;&#33;&#33;

    Thanks Balamm for your answer; still not quite answering my original question but you&#39;re right- i&#39;m going to install my copy of NAV Pro and i&#39;ll try out Sygate on your recommendation. I can&#39;t run my copy of SystemWorks from CD though, as it&#39;s not an ISO.[/b][/quote]
    Give me great big hug to show me that you didnt take it offensively.

    While your at it lets give balamm one too.


  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3,597
    balamm does not want hugs from liquidacid, balamm only would like sexy Ashley hugs


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •