Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44

Thread: Electrician help needed.

  1. #1
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    Boiler short circuit problem.

    Our boiler has randomly been popping the main fuse box over the last couple of months.
    As of today, if i plug in the cable from the boiler into any socket around the house (i used extension cord), the main fuse box pops.

    The electrical cable from the boiler is in not in any way visibly damaged.

    Our fuse box pops if there is an earth problem.

    I apologize for amateur use of electrical lingo.
    hence
    I tried google but can not find the right words to find a solution.

    Is there a simple solution or do we have to buy a whole bloody new boiler? (cash burn)


    Warm water is kind of important.

  2. Lounge   -   #2

  3. Lounge   -   #3
    JPaul's Avatar Fat Secret Agent
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    19,934
    Tesco is a spark, PM him.

  4. Lounge   -   #4
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    edit: Does it pop straight away or does it take a few seconds to minutes, or happen at a random time?
    Also when you plug in the cord do you see any sparks? If you do then the cord is likely shorted, if not then nothing is shorted but the boiler is using a higher amperage than it's supposed to which probably means it's broken...

    You could try running it on a larger circuit... For example if it's on a 15amp circuit try plugging it into a 20amp (if you have that anywhere in the house) or run a new circuit for it (make sure you use the correct wire size fr the breaker/fuse you use).

    This is only a temporary solution.

  5. Lounge   -   #5
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Uhh, wait a second, is a boiler a kettle or the thing that you use to heat your whole house's water?

  6. Lounge   -   #6
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    i get camera, so you can see and guide

  7. Lounge   -   #7
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    read my edit ^

  8. Lounge   -   #8
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    edit: Does it pop straight away or does it take a few seconds to minutes,

    it pops straight away


    or happen at a random time?

    it used to




    Also when you plug in the cord do you see any sparks?


    no




    You could try running it on a larger circuit...

    i tried all the different ones, they all have the same amount of power - 16amps / 2.5 mm



    sexy beast



  9. Lounge   -   #9
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    I will try by connecting a new cord.

  10. Lounge   -   #10
    Something Else's Avatar sex a wolf in a bag BT Rep: +70BT Rep +70BT Rep +70BT Rep +70BT Rep +70BT Rep +70BT Rep +70BT Rep +70BT Rep +70BT Rep +70BT Rep +70BT Rep +70BT Rep +70BT Rep +70
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Addicted to placebos
    Posts
    17,511
    It sounds like there is too many things plugged in on the circuit.

    At my work, the same happens when there is one too many things plugged in.

    Clearly tesco knows better than me tho'

    I do my best
    Last edited by benchez; 09-28-2008 at 02:16 PM.


Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •