Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Windows screwing up, can't run EXE files.

  1. #1
    tralalala's Avatar The Almighty
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    6,396
    As title says.. Nothing seems to be working. I go into the PC, and none of the startup programs run, and when trying to run an EXE file from the task manager, then it asks which program to run it with, hence the PC cannot seem to run any EXE files..

    Can't even run a boot Windows installation CD.. Any idea what this may be?


    BTW am on a laptop now..

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    tralalala's Avatar The Almighty
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    6,396
    Regedit wont even open when renamed to Regedit.com

    WTF the exefile tree isn't in the registry are there any instructions on how to recreate it?
    Last edited by tralalala; 11-02-2008 at 07:38 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    I know not for everyone but I'd nuke and reinstall why fuck around . You have a virus from the sounds of it . Can you format using a boot cd like Barts or the like ?

    I'd think about another anti-virus program too .




    http://www.hiren.info/pages/bootcd


    http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/
    Last edited by peat moss; 11-02-2008 at 08:24 PM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    45
    I'd just start over..

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    maverick_andy's Avatar broken heart... BT Rep: +25BT Rep +25BT Rep +25BT Rep +25BT Rep +25
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    In this Burning Heart
    Posts
    968
    Windows is not screwing up, it's u who screwed up windows by running virus infected program. There are many solutions to ur problem probably google will help u much better
    http://www.computing.net/answers/win...ute/46582.html
    Last edited by maverick_andy; 11-02-2008 at 11:59 PM.
    I've learned that it takes years to build up trust,
    and it only takes suspicion, not proof, to destroy it.

    I am proud to be a part of this communities.


  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    tralalala's Avatar The Almighty
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    6,396
    Well, took it down to the PC shop today, and it seemed a couple of the bits and bobs were a little wonky, so it seems that, from what I gather, it could be a combination of a virus, a new graphics card that was taking over most of the power supply, and some bad luck...

    Will know for sure what's happening in 2 days time.


    So don't be surprised if I'm not around for a it

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    Stop with the cheapo PSUs people.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Chewie's Avatar Chew E. Bakke
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,883
    Can't run executables 'cos the PSU is underpowered? That's a new one on me.
    There isn't a bargepole long enough for me to work on [a Sony Viao] - clocker 2008

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •