Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: CPU for Asus P5LD2?

  1. #1
    IdolEyes787's Avatar Persona non grata
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    State of Grace
    Posts
    29,117
    I need to replace a CPU on a P5LD2 motherboard.
    I think(?) I'm stuck using a conroe or allendale.

    Any suggestions? Worth putting a E6750 or 6850 ($250cdn) on or would that be throwing good money after bad and just replace the board too?
    Last edited by IdolEyes787; 11-03-2008 at 06:52 PM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    No man you can stick any socket 775 in there, even a quad core because it's still a Core 2 Duo. The FSB max is 1066 so if you use lets say an E8400 it will only run @ 1066 instead of 1333mhz, not a huge deal really and then when you get a new board you can swap it out then.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    IdolEyes787's Avatar Persona non grata
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    State of Grace
    Posts
    29,117
    Thanks Detale. .So it doesn't have to be 65nm architecture then.
    Can you give a suggestion for something solid,primarily needed for gaming.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    e8400
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    Deff go for the E8400 pretty much $169.99 US ( I don't know where to shop in Canada man sorry)everywhere.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    IdolEyes787's Avatar Persona non grata
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    State of Grace
    Posts
    29,117
    We have Newegg.ca now.

    The 8400 certainly seems like a great processor but I can't find anything anywhere to verify that it will work.

    Asus website says nothing over E6700 because of the constraints of the old 945p chipset the board uses.

    Also seems like there may be a problem with the VRM screwing up if you attempt it.

    Unfortunately there's a lot of versions and updates of the board so I guess there would be no way to know for sure if it would work without trying it.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •