Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Thread: P4 2.8 Or 3.0ghz?

  1. #1
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    I really can decide which one to get

    Intel Pentium 4 2.8ghz 800fsb $419
    Intel Pentium 4 3.0ghz 800fsb $599

    I save around 200 dollars for 200mhz

    Which should i get?
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    if you have copius amounts of money, get the 3.0GHz chip.
    otherwise, the 2.8GHz chip should easily suit your needs
    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>BLAH</span>

    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>Wayne Rooney - A thug and a thief</span>

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    One more thing i want my cpu to last as long as possible before 3 years later when games need like 3ghz as mininum
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Originally posted by Keikan@9 September 2003 - 05:04
    One more thing i want my cpu to last as long as possible before 3 years later when games need like 3ghz as mininum
    basically it depends how much money you have
    i&#39;m not trying to be rude, but if you are rich then get the 3.0GHz chip (obviously), if you&#39;ve been saving up for a while to get a new cpu, it may be worth getting the 2.8GHz chip and uprating other parts of your system (gpu, ram, motherboard...)
    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>BLAH</span>

    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>Wayne Rooney - A thug and a thief</span>

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    Would my pc be fast if i had 2.8ghz 2gig o ram?
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Originally posted by Keikan@9 September 2003 - 05:17
    Would my pc be fast if i had 2.8ghz 2gig o ram?
    there&#39;s no real point having anything more than a gig or a gig ad a half of ram unless you plan to do some pretty heavy 3d work, or want to run 20 instances of a program at the same time
    1 gig of ram should do you fine
    what gpu you got? might be worth upgrading that
    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>BLAH</span>

    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>Wayne Rooney - A thug and a thief</span>

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    My needs:

    Playing Games
    Encoding VCD/SVCD mpegs (In less than 4hrs please&#33;&#33;&#33
    WAtching divx movies
    Everyday stuff (e-mail,web surfing etc.)
    A pc that will meet the mininum requirements of games for more than 3 years if possible

    What i&#39;m looking at

    P4 2.8ghz/3.0ghz
    1024mb ram
    GENERIC geforce fx5600 256mb vid card
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    im not sure
    Posts
    213
    if they both have the 800mhz front side bus i would get the 2.8. There is a very little difference in processers, the bus is what matters. I have a 2.4(533 fsb) and my friend has a 1.2ghz(533fsb) and theres a very little difference. Also go a little higher and get the fx5900(the 5600 is very lound and it tested below the ati radeon 9700) or radeon 9800 256mb

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Broken's Avatar Obama Supporter
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    2,059
    2.8 or 3.0 ghz... it really doesn&#39;t matter. In 8 months they&#39;ll both be obsolete. Save the money and get ready to buy the computer after that if you wanna stay current. B)

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    that setup should do you well
    the only possible weak point is the graphics card. you might want to be prepared to replace that in about a year or so, apart from that, it&#39;s a nice setup

    as for the encoding you mention, my current setup (athlon 2700+, 512MB ram) takes approx 1.2 times real time to encode avi to vcd, so your proposed setup should do avi to vcd in real time or better
    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>BLAH</span>

    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>Wayne Rooney - A thug and a thief</span>

Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •