Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Anyone have any experience slipstreaming drivers into an XP installation?

  1. #1
    Night0wl's Avatar GoaHead BT Rep: +6BT Rep +6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    On an island
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,472
    I downgraded to XP on a computer and I can't install the audio driver on a loaded system. I tried safe mode without network and everything like that.

    I can't uninstall the wrong driver or update it or... anything I try

    Would it be an easy thing to slipstream the driver into an XP install disk using e.g. nLite?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Depends on the driver.

    Creative drivers cannot be slipstreamed using nLite.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    bentomans's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    94
    which way did you install windows update or setup file ?
    did you install with accurate driver ?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Night0wl's Avatar GoaHead BT Rep: +6BT Rep +6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    On an island
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,472
    The driver I need to install is Realtek HD Audio driver, so not creative thankfully.

    My biggest worry is how do I remove the driver that gets installed by default in the install. I somehow need to get Windows install to understand that it's in fact the wrong driver it's installing and instead choose the Realtek one.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Can't you just remove the faulty Windows supplied driver?
    If not, why?
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Can't you just roll back the driver if not the right one ? I'm with clocker on this one , is this a Windows Update ?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    bentomans's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    94
    Quote Originally Posted by Blue_Skies View Post
    The driver I need to install is Realtek HD Audio driver, so not creative thankfully.

    My biggest worry is how do I remove the driver that gets installed by default in the install. I somehow need to get Windows install to understand that it's in fact the wrong driver it's installing and instead choose the Realtek one.
    just install new driver don't need to remove old driver

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Night0wl's Avatar GoaHead BT Rep: +6BT Rep +6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    On an island
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,472
    I can't remove the old driver at all. Whatever I push it will either not react at all, or it will say can't remove files, which are needed for Windows startup (when pressing remove driver).

    If I try to install the correct driver through .exe file, it extracts and then says installation failed.
    Last edited by Blue_Skies; 12-14-2008 at 11:21 AM.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Have you tried in safe mode ?

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Night0wl's Avatar GoaHead BT Rep: +6BT Rep +6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    On an island
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,472
    I tried safe mode, but issue resolved now

    It turned out that something I did previously allowed the wrong audiodriver to get stuck. A new reinstall of XP and installing The Realtek HD Audio Driver as the very first thing did the trick.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •