Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Ram Problem

  1. #1
    Only in a Processor.
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Age
    31
    Posts
    393
    I know this is kind of an odd question, but is there anyway to clear out your cache on your RAM? If it's not possible, thanks anyway.

    The problem is, I only have 256mb, and my dad is too cheap to buy some, and i don't have a job to do, other wise i would. So i just need a way so that my comp. doesn't lag.
    Only in a computer will I find happiness.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Restart your computer genius...that will clear your RAM...

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Do an off-line defrag also...
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Only in a Processor.
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Age
    31
    Posts
    393
    i do, every day, and night. I know XP drains alot of resourses, but it's just that my comp laggs when i'm playing a game. any other suggestions?
    Only in a computer will I find happiness.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Only in a Processor.
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Age
    31
    Posts
    393
    i may just have to defrag...or maybe format, i have too much crap on my comp...

    edit: i didn't want to have to do that, it will take too much time oh well i'll just defrag through the night then.
    Only in a computer will I find happiness.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Go to tweakhounds page and download Clearmem

    "If you must have a "RAM Optimizer" here it is. (I only use it before benchmarking, just to be sure.)"

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Kill as many unneeded processes as you can...as you say, XP uses alot of resources and 256MB is kinda marginal if you are gaming also.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    what game are you playing ?
    Whats your processor speed ?
    whats your graphics card ?

    Its not your ram unless its faulty. Has it always been laggy or just begun ?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Only in a Processor.
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Age
    31
    Posts
    393
    Originally posted by neattairoski@14 September 2003 - 06:24
    what game are you playing ?
    Whats your processor speed ?
    whats your graphics card ?

    Its not your ram unless its faulty. Has it always been laggy or just begun ?
    Warcraft 3
    1.7 ghz pentium 4
    ATI radeon 7500


    just began to get laggy like 4-5 months ago, i've had this comp for nearly 2 years now

    edit: i've only had my connection for about 1 year, and i've gotten 20 gb, of zipped, unzipped, and extracted, unused files-.reg files-programs, and used files-.reg files-programs
    Only in a computer will I find happiness.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Probably your video card.

    Warcraft3 is very demanding. You should get a new card with that cpu and ram it should run most things

    If you can get atleast 512mb ram or even re install windows if its been over 5 months.

    I have a 750Mhz duron 512mb sdram and a geforce4 64mb ddr MX440 and it war3 runs fine.

    ALso try changing the resolution down to like 800x600

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •