Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: How Big Is A Hard Drive

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    481
    i was a boot sale and i saw a load of hard drives 4 sale (second hand) they looked like most of them were riped out of old/new computers. the problem is when i was looking at some of them they said 4 example 50 sectors and some other suff, but it did not say that the hard drive was 4 gig,20 gig or anything like that. i would like 2 no how to read and understand how big a harddrive is by looking at the sector sizes on there own. can any 1 shed any light on da subject

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3,597
    I would imagine google is still operational. A bit frustrating at times but still an excellent source of information.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    481
    that the hard way

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    ....ask someone who works there...lol

    did a lil research for ya

    Sectors
    The physics behind reading and writing of data onto the hard disk is invisible to the user because the operating system hides all the complexity involved. Instead it presents a simplified, logical hard disk layout to whatever program is performing the input/output (I/O) operations. In this model, the entire hard disk space is supposed to be divided into little “boxes” called sectors. Every sector can hold a maximum of 512 bytes of data. So, if a 2000-byte file would occupy 4 sectos leaving 48 bytes of unused space in the last sector.

    http://msram.tripod.com/bitwise/bw006part1
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3,597
    You shouldn't have, really.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    481
    nice 1

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    _John_Lennon_'s Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Strawberry Fields
    Posts
    1,177
    Alot of hard drives will say their specs on the drive atleast, if not the actual size, then perhaps the number of sectors, like foxx explained.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    by the way....512 bytes=.5 KB...so 50 sectors of 512 bytes=25 KB.... ...... ...........lololol

    ballam...what do you mean i shouldnt have? is this info wrong? cuz i really dont know...thats an awful small hd lol
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    btw, talkin about hd size.

    I recently sent an old 40gb (5400 rpm) maxtor hardrive back for warrenty.
    They sent me a brand new model 60gb (7200 rpm) HD in return!
    Man Maxtor is nice!!

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    _John_Lennon_'s Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Strawberry Fields
    Posts
    1,177
    Originally posted by Wolfmight@15 September 2003 - 23:44
    btw, talkin about hd size.

    I recently sent an old 40gb (5400 rpm) maxtor hardrive back for warrenty.
    They sent me a brand new model 60gb (7200 rpm) HD in return!
    Man Maxtor is nice!!
    **Hunts around for his 4 year old 20GB WD.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •