Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: What type of cable between wall socket and main box thing?

  1. #1
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    Excuse my failed technical terminology.

    the story
    My friend ordered internet from nextgentel.
    Electrician came today, he mounted the "box" on the wall which connects to the modem.
    However.
    There is no cable connecting the box to the main line center. Because there is no connection in his apartment.

    The main center is 3 floors up and the electrician said it would cost him tons of cash if the electrician had to connect it.
    So my friend is stuck with a bill and no internet.


    Possible solution
    My friend lays a wire between the main center and his apartment. Then the electrician comes and connects both ends.

    My question is, what type of cable does he need to get?


    Once again, Excuse my failed technical terminology.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    ryan20021982's Avatar Z@X | t3Am BT Rep: +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    471
    Are we talking about DSL or Cable internet??

    And what box that connects to the modem??

    If its dsl then a standard phone line connects to the modem, if cable then a standard coax cable connects to it.


  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Just poast pics of what you mean, Zed.

    I had a reply all typed out yesterday, but didn't poast it cos I realised I wasn't entirely sure what you were talking about.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    ok will do, will take a few days though..

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,624
    It sounds like you need either a coaxial or ethernet.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    TinkerBell's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    37
    There is actually a special cord for dsl modems that goes from the wall, (which would be the place you plug phone in wall or this case dsl modem) to the back of the dsl modem. Be sure also if you plan to use a phone on this line also to be sure to install a filter adapter also. I recommend contacting your isp provider and try to get these items for free. Since you should have received them with the dsl modem.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    Have still not been to his place.
    He has ordered ADSL 6000 Mega



    Fuck this , he has still not bothered to contact them to find out a solution...
    so kill this thread.


    Thanks for help

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    That's a great drawing.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671

    louder than words.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    So your friend doesn't have any phone jacks in his apartment?
    If that's all he needs you can simply run CAT5. The electrician wil know what to do with it (use 2 or 4 of the 8 wires, you end up with 6 or 4 extras to use for additional lines).


    Clearly the best option here is for him to call up the ISP and ask what kind of line is needed, then if still nto sure post that and some pics of the wall socket, modem, etc. here.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •