Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Windows Serial Number

  1. #1
    I had some problems with my laptop, took it to have it fixd. They re-installed Windows XP, and now I get the message frfom Microsoft that my Windows copy is not genuine. Is there anyway I could TELL them this, and can I somehow put the Original Serial Number, from the label underneath the laptop, into Windows, to stop this problem, or do I have to cough up nearly 100 for yet another copy of Windows?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    dutchmaster420's Avatar God's Son
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Age
    30
    Posts
    3,136
    if it is the genuine serial...call them tell them you reinstalled windows and they will fix it for you

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    redMonster's Avatar Flying Without Wings BT Rep: +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Stalk City
    Posts
    1,854
    To whom did you take the laptop to get it fixed? It could be possible that they installed a pirated version of Windows. You must have received a recovery disc with the laptop. Use that to reinstall/recover windows
    Click here if you want to join TTC

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    dutchmaster420's Avatar God's Son
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Age
    30
    Posts
    3,136
    oo yea didnt really read your post to well...did you take it to a reputable business to get it fixed like best buy or just some guy

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    ..... BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    3,808
    Should be moved to the software section. Is not a tutorial.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Move to software?

    If the serial is genuien, call microsoft and they'll fix it for you.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    Yeah Just saw this-Moved

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Windows genuine have 3 time registration, after that it will no longer accept the registration number
    Last edited by mhuktar; 04-21-2009 at 05:56 AM.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    darkstate01's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    manc
    Posts
    488
    You don't need to re-install or call microsoft, They have a key changer program that lets you update your key to the 1 on the bottom of your P.C, Just follow the Instructions and reboot ...Easy as that ,Heres the link
    http://www.microsoft.com/genuine/sel...e-47da8c20a309
    Last edited by darkstate01; 03-06-2009 at 07:17 AM.
    PAIN is just WEAKNESS leaving the body

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Just call microsoft, my cousin did it. She reinstalled 3 times and ran out of keys. They'll ask that you provide one of the genuine keys and give you a new one to install.

    EDIT: NVM, darkstate01 is right. That works as well.
    Last edited by iceman0113; 03-10-2009 at 03:43 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •