Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Cpu Wont Turn Off Itself

  1. #1
    dudevenezuela's Avatar VIP
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    VenezueLa
    Posts
    463
    I used to have Windows Me and another harddrive and my cpu it turn off itself after closing windows, but now i have XP and a new HD and after i close windows where is the screen it says "is safe to turn your pc off" it does not turn off itself like before not even pushing the cpu off button so i have to turn it off by the switch on the back or unplugging it which i have heard it's no safe at all

    What can i do to fix this?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,198
    What are the computer specs?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3,597
    Are you holding the off button in for a minute? It's probably using "soft off" You can switch that in Bios to make it instant.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    dudevenezuela's Avatar VIP
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    VenezueLa
    Posts
    463
    pentium

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    dudevenezuela's Avatar VIP
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    VenezueLa
    Posts
    463
    Sorry for that last post i didn't finished it

    PentiumIII
    500Mhz
    40Mb HD
    256Mb Ram

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3,597
    Actually, In the screensaver advanced menu, there are power options that may need to be set for instant off as well.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    dudevenezuela's Avatar VIP
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    VenezueLa
    Posts
    463
    Done.. Thanks a lot

    It was in soft off

    how do u change it in Bios?

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,198
    Hit the delete key at startup to get into the BIOS settings.

    By the way... I noticed that you started a post and accidentally submitted it before completing it. Instead of posting a new one you can always edit your own posts. Look to the right of your post for the [Edit] button.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    dudevenezuela's Avatar VIP
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    VenezueLa
    Posts
    463
    Yeah u are right didnt know that

    Thanks

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,198
    Were you able to get into the BIOS settings?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •