Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: VGA Adapter 2x Female to 1x Male Possible?

  1. #1
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924

    Angry

    Is it possible to find a VGA adapter that does


    2x Female -> 1x Male


    An example of what I want is:


    PC -> VGA Out (Female)
    _ <---- HDTV VGA In (Male)
    Xbox360 -> VGA Out (Female)


    I know you can do the opposite since there are Y adapters that do it. But I don't want to split the source into two, I want to take two different sources and push them into one receiver.
    Last edited by lightshow; 03-24-2009 at 02:28 AM.
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Artemis's Avatar ןɐɯɹou ǝq ʎɥʍ BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    6,331
    Quote Originally Posted by lightshow View Post
    Is it possible to find a VGA adapter that does


    2x Female -> 1x Male


    An example of what I want is:


    PC -> VGA Out (Female)
    _ <---- HDTV VGA In (Male)
    Xbox360 -> VGA Out (Female)


    I know you can do the opposite since there are Y adapters that do it. But I don't want to split the source into two, I want to take two different sources and push them into one receiver.
    The receiver being your HDTV yes ? You are far better to use the HiDef inputs on the TV than VGA. i.e. the PC output it is preferable to use DVI-D to HDMI in. The same with the XBox360 either the composite or HDMI output from the Xbox into the TV.

    The reason for this is that the VGA output is not a digital output but rather analog and does not overscan. The difference is that images will seem more jerky using an analog rather than digital input and of course the Xbox360 will not display at optimum resolution.

    4d7920686f76657263726166742069732066756c6c206f662065656c73


  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Detale's Avatar Go Snatch a Judge
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    8,120
    Agree with Art. I had gotten a DVI->HDMi cable or even an adapter but deff use HDMI. I'm sure you have more than one on your TV if you have a VGA in right?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Extra emphasis on those comments: my TV is full 1920x1080 pixels, but it will only accept vga up to 768x1366 because of the need to convert analogue to digital. Still, if you've no alternative I suppose it might be better than nothing.

    I can't see how you can have a cable that connects two outputs to one input - potentially you would be trying to merge 2 signals, and that means that if one of the signals was not present then it would have to pull down the level of the other signal.

    There's one thing that might work though - what about a two (or more) port KVM switch? A physical switch (as opposed to an electronic one) would not need a keyboard or mouse connected. You won't get automatic switching (but I can't think of any way that you could) but it might give you the connection options you need.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    Thanks for your replys.

    I should have prefaced my post by saying that I don't have an HDTV yet, I am still working out deals vs. input types.

    I did not realize that the VGA connection was an analog connection. I assumed it was digital.


    Yes Detale, I'm seeing a standard of 2x hdmi in then a mix of vga or vga + dvi.


    I was thinking that I'd use my existing xbox360 vga adapter and use a KVM type switch to utilize two vga sources.


    Now that I really think about it, if I can focus on getting a TV with DVI to accept my video card output DVI-I via geforce 7600gt, then a HDMI cable for the xbox360 that would be the best solution.


    @lynx, I see that the VGA connection has the resolution problem (limited b/c of the analog -> digital conversion rather than the limitation of the HDTV resolution), but is it the same with DVI? Can DVI scale to whatever the max resolution of your HDTV is?


    It would be a pain in the butt to have to swich the input sources on a KVM switch.
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    You can get DVI to HDMI adapter cables. But you won't get audio through it unless your video card supports that (not sure what ones do). If you went this route you would need a tv that can accept an external audio source while accepting video through hdmi.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Member BT Rep: +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,617
    I have 2 monitors and 1 TV connected to my video card at the same time.

    My video card has 2 DVI outputs

    1 is a CRT monitor so I use a DVI to VGA converter
    For the LCD monitor and for the TV what I have is a powered DVI splitter from www.monoprice.com it splits the DVI signal to 2 devices from 1 source. My TV connects with a DVI to HDMI cable.

    I can watch High Def movies or anything on my LCD monitor and my TV at the same time. You should get a powered splitter or else you will lose lots of picture quality.

    This setup cost me like $100 CAD though.

    If you only have 1 monitor and your video card has 2 DVI outputs you only need a DVI to HDMI cable like tesco said. Which will be much cheaper. Of course you would get no audio on your 360 this way. If you have the 360 HDMI cable that has optical connection, you could hook up to a optical receiver. Or if your sound card have optical in like mine that would work too.
    Last edited by saulin; 04-07-2009 at 04:05 AM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •