Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: OS for core i7 CPU?

  1. #1
    nemrac's Avatar Getting my feet wet BT Rep: +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Quahog
    Posts
    410
    Hey all,

    I'm thinking of getting a new MoBo with the intel core i7 920 CPU and 6 Gigs of Ram.

    http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...020692&cid=CPU

    What Version of Windows should I install? Also 32 or 64?

    Your opinions would be appreciated.

    thanks

    Nemrac

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    The ram is an over kill ! Xp pro 32 bit is what I'd use , but just my opinion .

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    nemrac's Avatar Getting my feet wet BT Rep: +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Quahog
    Posts
    410
    Peat Moss,

    i think the 6 gigs has something to do with the triple channel.

    Nemrac

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Well then you'll never use it . Do you play games at all ? I just found 64 bit read " all " of my memory but some programs ran shitty or not at all .

    Now would be a good time to try say Win 7 or a tweaked Vista Black 32 bit ?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    nemrac's Avatar Getting my feet wet BT Rep: +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65BT Rep +65
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Quahog
    Posts
    410
    I play some games, but nothing really demanding. I spend a lot of time encoding video.

    I would not be against Win 7. Maybe a dual boot?

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    It just seems like an awful lot of money for a Mobo , Cpu and memory sans video card . You would have to go Vista or XP 64 bit to read all the 6 gb is all .

    Clocker said it best about the core I7 tho " here today gone tomorrow " . Id rethink it or ask in hardware world for their ideas . Ask a mod to move if you like .

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    SonsOfLiberty's Avatar The Lonely Wanderer
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Capital Wasteland
    Posts
    24,011
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/

    There cheaper there

    But XP will only read 3gig's of mem so whats the point of running XP and using 6gig's?
    [center]

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Quote Originally Posted by SonsOfLiberty View Post
    But XP will only read 3gig's of mem so whats the point of running XP and using 6gig's?
    Not exactly true. XP 32bit can handle up to 4GB Of ram (But remember GPU Ram is also counted).

    XP 64 bit can handle something like 16 million terabytes.

    Your best bet would be XP 64bit of Vista 64bit.

    XP 64bit has some problems with 64-bit drivers not being available for some hardware, but I believe Vista 64bit is a little better in that aspect.

    The best advice I have for you is that you just make sure you get a 64 bit version.

    I personally prefer XP because I don't like the bloat of Vista.

    Actually, you might want to consider installing both...
    Last edited by BigIg; 04-12-2009 at 04:58 PM.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    ryan20021982's Avatar Z@X | t3Am BT Rep: +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    471
    I use vista ultimate x64 with I7 and have no problems with anything, but will be switching to Window7 when its officially released.


  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Member BT Rep: +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,617
    XP 64-bit seems to be running smooth for me and it runs everything that 32-bit XP runs so far. I haven't played games yet since I just installed it but performance should be good since it reads all your memory.

    I tried Vista 64-bit but there are programs compatibility issues using Vista x64. I would not recommend Windows 7, is not finished yet.
    Last edited by saulin; 04-12-2009 at 06:22 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •