Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Windows xp pro problem

  1. #1
    Everytime i try to go to windows update it takes to google main page,
    also when i try to connect to other sites goes to other weird sites.
    Its a fresh copy of windows just set it up, reloaded because was doing
    same thing earlier today. Deleted partition before reloading.
    Last edited by Grumpybear2000; 04-25-2009 at 02:58 PM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Grumpy , google Browser hijacker . That's what it sounds like some goofy malware .

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    just cant work out why it works fine on dial up but goes crazy on adsl for some reason. tried everything when i do a search and try to go to the page this comes up the top "http://results.yahoo.com/" then could go anywhere.
    Last edited by Grumpybear2000; 04-26-2009 at 06:10 AM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Chewie's Avatar Chew E. Bakke
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,883
    If this is on a fresh install then it sounds like the disc is pre-infected with some sort of malware.
    There isn't a bargepole long enough for me to work on [a Sony Viao] - clocker 2008

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Been same disk have had for years, have connected other computer to my connection and it does same thing. But why does everything work 100% no problem with dial-up yet when i use my adsl it plays up and wont work right
    Last edited by Grumpybear2000; 04-26-2009 at 07:16 AM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    I believe some malware leaves dialup machines alone. As the connection is too slow to be sold as a bot.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    looks like the modem a netcomm NB6 modem router has malaware or a virus in it. Never heard of it but did a search and there is a story where it is happening in australia. Just need answers as how to fix it.
    Last edited by Grumpybear2000; 04-26-2009 at 11:08 AM.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Grumpy , don't know how true this quote is but ...



    "It's quite easy to tell if a router has been compromised. Check which DNS
    servers the router is using. If they aren't from your ISP the router has
    been compromised. Formatting or reinstalling your OS would have no affect
    at all on this. The wrong DNS settings would still exist in your router.
    Flashing the router's firmware then setting a strong password and
    disabling uPnP are the steps to take to correct the problem. If you think
    they redirected you to a bad site that installed malware then yes, to fix
    that you may need to format and reinstall the OS."

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    Cool I learned something.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    I found it here :

    http://www.windowsbbs.com/malware-vi...uncements.html

    Some interesting security topics . like a new program to scan running processes called DDS , its like Hyjackthis
    Last edited by peat moss; 04-26-2009 at 10:46 PM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •