Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 54

Thread: Fireup firefox speed by upto 2-30 times faster-100% working!

  1. #1
    sez's Avatar c0V3r3– iN Ba57Ar– BT Rep: +23BT Rep +23BT Rep +23BT Rep +23BT Rep +23
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    in your sWaRm
    Posts
    1,771
    1. type "about:config" into the address bar and hit return. scroll
    down(or ctrl+f) and look for the following entries

    network.http.pipelining
    network.http.proxy.pipelining
    network.http.pipelining.maxrequests

    normally the browser will make one request to a web page at a time.
    when you enable pipelining it will make several at once, which really
    speeds up page loading.

    2. alter the entries as follows

    set "network.http.pipelining" to "true"

    set "network.http.proxy.pipelining" to "true"

    set "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to some number like 30. this
    means it will make 30 requests at once.

    3. lastly right-click anywhere and select new-> integer.
    name it "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" and set its value to "0".
    this value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it recieves.

    if you're using a broadband connection you'll load pages 2-30 times faster now.

    i tried it and it worked.
    Its also working with "netscape"

    your turn!

  2. The following users thank Juscallmesez for this post:  
    Rian125 (10-09-2014)
  3. Guides and Tutorials   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Or you could just get the FasterFox plugin and do the same thing automatically.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  4. Guides and Tutorials   -   #3
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    30 times faster eh?

  5. Guides and Tutorials   -   #4
    SonsOfLiberty's Avatar The Lonely Wanderer
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Capital Wasteland
    Posts
    24,011
    No way, Opera still smokes FF...even though FF is my browser of choice, Faster fox screws more up then it helps.
    [center]

  6. Guides and Tutorials   -   #5
    iLOVENZB's Avatar FST Crew BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Land gurt by sea
    Posts
    9,192
    Quote Originally Posted by tesco View Post
    30 times faster eh?
    2-30

  7. Guides and Tutorials   -   #6
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by iLOVENZB View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by tesco View Post
    30 times faster eh?
    2-30
    not even 2 let alone 30.

  8. Guides and Tutorials   -   #7
    janlafata's Avatar Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Age
    62
    Posts
    7
    Thanks all for your input. First off I do have ESET Smart Security 4 and I checked the settings that you said to. Problem is ESET is very vague on whether a check mark means excluded or not. I think it is.

    Also I checked on those settings in about:config and everything was already tweaked except for "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" Sorry to disagree with you on that but from everything I have read, it does no good to set the value above 8, although I imagine there would be a lot of people who dissagree with that.

    Also I throttled back on uTorrent, the maximum number of connections to 100, the number of connected peers to 50 (though that might be too low, I don't know) the number of upload slots per torrent to 5 and the maximum upload rate to 20 kB/s. This has all helped quite a bit

    I also had a tech friend of mine suggest that I look on the uTorrent site for a fix to the problem. He told me that, when this happens again, open Task Manager and check the Networking stats. That if there is any bandwidth being used after you shut down the bittorrent client and you don't have the browser open then that means the users from the bittorrent haven't been disconnected.

    He suggests instead of rebooting to open a command window and use the ipconfig release/renew command to reset and reconnect your ip connection. That will disconnect any torrent users still connected. I tried that and ipconfig /release worked but ipconfig /renew drew an error.

    He also said that I could even write a small script to automatically release and renew your ip connection, though that is a little byond my capabilities.
    Last edited by janlafata; 05-04-2009 at 05:50 AM.

  9. Guides and Tutorials   -   #8
    VinX's Avatar ▄ █ ▄ █ ▄ █ ▄ BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    No Where
    Posts
    915
    not much noticable difference if u have 512 kbps line .. lol






  10. Guides and Tutorials   -   #9
    SonsOfLiberty's Avatar The Lonely Wanderer
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Capital Wasteland
    Posts
    24,011
    Quote Originally Posted by tesco View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by iLOVENZB View Post

    2-30
    not even 2 let alone 30.
    Well if you want to speed it up, use Opera I use 4 differnt browsers for some odd reason.
    [center]

  11. Guides and Tutorials   -   #10
    sez's Avatar c0V3r3– iN Ba57Ar– BT Rep: +23BT Rep +23BT Rep +23BT Rep +23BT Rep +23
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    in your sWaRm
    Posts
    1,771
    Quote Originally Posted by SonsOfLiberty View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by tesco View Post
    not even 2 let alone 30.
    Well if you want to speed it up, use Opera I use 4 differnt browsers for some odd reason.
    mhh..nice! is that some sort of fetish

Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •