Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Apache 1.3 Help

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    324
    im running apache and so when my firend tries to connect to my website via my ip address this is what is says:

    Network Error
    Unable to request URL from host 68.169.58.113:80: Operation timed out

    i have apache running and i have port 80 open on my router. so can anyone tell me how to set it so that others may view it?


    if you want to see for yourself here it is: website

    Live by the sword, Die by the sword.
    We all seek peace, but few of us will ever find it.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    You need to try connecting to http://localhost/ or http://127.0.0.1/ and see if your web page comes up.

    And aslo check your htpd.conf, it has to be configured accordingly. NO EXCEPTIONS.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    324
    yes i can connect to localhost and im pretty sure that my httpd.con is configured proplery

    Live by the sword, Die by the sword.
    We all seek peace, but few of us will ever find it.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    then its a network problem. Do you use a redirection service to redirect a subdomain to your ip?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    324
    yea i got a DNS host from www.no-ip.com so that people can put that in htere instead of having to put my ip in

    Live by the sword, Die by the sword.
    We all seek peace, but few of us will ever find it.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Originally posted by volskid2002@23 September 2003 - 21:28
    yea i got a DNS host from www.no-ip.com so that people can put that in htere instead of having to put my ip in
    Make sure you gave them the correct ip information etc. It sounds like that may be the problem. Try using another free dns redirection service and see if it works then.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    im guessing the server is not setup properly since he/she cant access it using your ip

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    324
    alright so what do i need to do to get it set up correctly

    i installed apache, php, and mysql and everything is working fine for me except that other people cannot view my website. when i go to localhost everything show up fine!!! I have a linksys router that i have port 80 forwarded on so its open and here are some excerps from my httpd file:


    #
    # Listen: Allows you to bind Apache to specific IP addresses and/or
    # ports, instead of the default. See also the <VirtualHost>
    # directive.
    #
    #Listen 3000
    #Listen 12.34.56.78:80
    Listen 68.169.58.113:80


    #
    # Port: The port to which the standalone server listens. Certain firewall
    # products must be configured before Apache can listen to a specific port.
    # Other running httpd servers will also interfere with this port. Disable
    # all firewall, security, and other services if you encounter problems.
    # To help diagnose problems use the Windows NT command NETSTAT -a
    #
    Port 80

    #
    # ServerName allows you to set a host name which is sent back to clients for
    # your server if it&#39;s different than the one the program would get (i.e., use
    # "www" instead of the host&#39;s real name).
    #
    # Note: You cannot just invent host names and hope they work. The name you
    # define here must be a valid DNS name for your host. If you don&#39;t understand
    # this, ask your network administrator.
    # If your host doesn&#39;t have a registered DNS name, enter its IP address here.
    # You will have to access it by its address (e.g., http://123.45.67.89/)
    # anyway, and this will make redirections work in a sensible way.
    #
    # 127.0.0.1 is the TCP/IP local loop-back address, often named localhost. Your
    # machine always knows itself by this address. If you use Apache strictly for
    # local testing and development, you may use 127.0.0.1 as the server name.
    #
    ServerName 68.169.58.113:80
    i think that about does it so can anyone figure out why no one can connect to my server. if my ISP blocks port 80 how can i change that so that others can view my site?

    any help would be greatly appreciated&#33;&#33;&#33;

    Live by the sword, Die by the sword.
    We all seek peace, but few of us will ever find it.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    That particular part of your conf file is decisive enough to determine that its not a problem with apache. It may be your isp like you said. But neverthelesss, make sure that your router is configured correctly.

    And run a port scan not on 127.0.0.1 but on your externel ip address. And also make sure when you run the port scan that your router is not in stealth mode or if it is make sure you tell the port scanner to scan without pings.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    324
    how can i run a port scan?

    also i stopped apache for awhile and then i put my computer into DMZ to open all ports and then when i try to start apache it gives me this error:


    Live by the sword, Die by the sword.
    We all seek peace, but few of us will ever find it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •