Thread: Par2 files not arriving on some servers

I recently posted a large audiobook to a newsgroup. I have done this quite a few times without problems. The post was made up of 28 mp3 files, 8 Par2s, 1 jpg, 1 nfo and an nzb which referenced all of them. After posting, I checked the newsgroup and they all showed up correctly (and they still do several days later).

However, when I checked on Newsleech.com, that website only lists the mp3 files - none of the Par2s, nfo or nzb show up.

Today there was a posting on the newsgroup saying that the Par2s hadn't arrived on his server and asking me to post them again.

I am relatively new to newsgroups - can anyone tell me why this might have happened? It seems very strange to me that they would be listed on my server (in Australia) and I would like to make sure that it isn't the result of some kind of mistake at my end.

I use a direct feed to Astraweb provided by my ISP, Grabit, Yenc-Power-Post-A&A-v11b & QuickPar.

2. Newsgroups   -   #2
    The 'bucket-brigade' of usenet, proper term 'propagation', may be a fault of the posting server (Astraweb?), or the transmission between that sever and some/all of the receiving servers.

Basically, if things 'get' to one of the 'super-majors' like Giganews or Astraweb, it's kinda gotten everywhere. Good posters will monitor their upload on one (or both) of the 'super-majors', and have to figure that everyone (servers) will follow in line.

BUT, one of the things that folks forget about, is that nothing is exactly 'instantaneous', in that it may take a bit of time for the bits to crawl to the receiving server in question. There may be some that will 'fill in' in several hours/days.

Most decent usenet plants these days do run an 'auto-correct' program that uses your par2 files to correct any transmission errors, and that may result in your par2 files being 'delayed' for some reason.