Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: SP2 for 64-bit Vista

  1. #1
    j2k4's Avatar en(un)lightened
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oh, please...
    Posts
    15,254
    Anybody done it yet, with/without stories to tell.
    “Think about how stupid the average person is, and then realize that half of 'em are stupider than that.” -George Carlin

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Frankthetank1's Avatar Über User BT Rep: +25BT Rep +25BT Rep +25BT Rep +25BT Rep +25
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Boston
    Age
    40
    Posts
    792
    no i heard it was available but when i went to updates in my vista ultimate it wasn't available. Anyone know why?
    “Just because you’re miserable doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy your life.”

    DO NOT RANDOMLY PM ME ASKING FOR INVITES!

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    j2k4's Avatar en(un)lightened
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oh, please...
    Posts
    15,254
    Ah, it was the same deal with SP1.

    SP2 can be DLed directly from MS now:

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/w.../dd262148.aspx
    “Think about how stupid the average person is, and then realize that half of 'em are stupider than that.” -George Carlin

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    home
    Posts
    93
    y00 instal windows 7 its alot better then vista i test it on quad core with 2gb ram works v fast v nice smooth lovely os u need about 14gb for that baby instal in 13 mins make image from ghost enjoy it

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    j2k4's Avatar en(un)lightened
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oh, please...
    Posts
    15,254
    Here's the low-down:

    SP2 for Vista may not install on vlite versions of the OS, owing to any of a number of optional deletions/configurations available.

    Forewarned is forearmed.

    Perhaps one or more of you are aware of the particular particulars.
    Last edited by j2k4; 06-06-2009 at 06:06 PM.
    “Think about how stupid the average person is, and then realize that half of 'em are stupider than that.” -George Carlin

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Sounds like a real cluster fuck , just like SP1 . Found some tips here :


    http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.ph...ic=767722&st=0




    http://www.msfn.org/board/vLite_f153.html
    Last edited by peat moss; 06-06-2009 at 09:11 PM.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    SonsOfLiberty's Avatar The Lonely Wanderer
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Capital Wasteland
    Posts
    24,011
    Best solution would be to grab the MSDN image and then slipstream SP2 into it.
    [center]

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Quote Originally Posted by SonsOfLiberty View Post
    Best solution would be to grab the MSDN image and then slipstream SP2 into it.
    Oh their coming out , saw a 32 bit today .

    Ultimate and Home Premium in 1 CD
    Based on Windows Vista SP2 Final 32 Bit English
    Auto Installation
    Auto Activation (No Serial or Activation needed)
    Minmum 265 MB Ram required only
    Intergrated SP2 into OS (not an add on)
    Very fast and stable
    Aero theme
    Side Bar
    Printer support
    Accept updates
    Super fast install time
    Only 2.8 GB hard drive space required for install
    ISO Size: 699 MB
    Compression Size: 682 MB

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15
    I haven't had any problems with the SP2 (yet).
    My OS: Vista Home Premium

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Quote Originally Posted by j2k4 View Post
    Here's the low-down:

    SP2 for Vista may not install on vlite versions of the OS, owing to any of a number of optional deletions/configurations available.

    Forewarned is forearmed.

    Perhaps one or more of you are aware of the particular particulars.
    There's one thing I could never figure out. Why all these special integrated versions of OS's floating around. As if I couldn't decide for myself if I wanted IE7 or 8 or WMP11. I've slipstreamed SP's but not too much else, I don't want to put a sata driver on the disk that will be obsolete when I buy my next motherboard, unless the disk is an RW. And talk about Corporate editions of XP with cd keys integrated, there everywhere. The problem is the disk becomes usless or at least a pain if the key becomes blacklisted like they tend to do. But they still seem to be the most popular downloads around. There can't be that many stupid people out there can there? OH! Wait they elected Bush two times in a row, yep there's alot of stupid ones out there.

    I installed SP2 on Vista 64 bit and everything went fine. The way Vista is put together, the SP cannot be integrated onto the disk, you have to get a retail version with SP2 on it and then you can use your original key to install it without having to update with sp2 afterwords..
    Last edited by Appzalien; 06-22-2009 at 04:03 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •