Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Opera

  1. #1
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,622
    I'm convinced FF is getting slower with every update.

    I just downloaded Opera to give it a test run but there doesn't appear to be a popup blocker built in. Googling around a bit I've seen users saying they use 3rd party programs to block them but that doesn't sound very appealing to me.

    Any suggestions on how to block ads in Opera?



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Slower on every update ? Maybe its your extensions . By all means try another browser if unhappy but good luck with Opera . Been there done that got the t shirt .


    Try Avant with the built in pop up blocker . http://www.avantbrowser.com/
    Last edited by peat moss; 06-08-2009 at 06:02 AM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,622
    Perhaps not in the literal sense, but it just doesn't seem to be the speed it once was. I only run a couple plugins and none of them seem to make a difference when enabled or disabled.

    I had to view something in IE a couple days ago and was amazed at how blazing fast IE8 was.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Ya well the nice thing is you can run multiple browsers and then pick your poison . If you need IE to browse you know Fox has a plugin called IE tab .

    As I said I don't mean to discourage you from trying a different browser but found Opera lacking in many ways , plug ins and support were few and far between .

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,622
    Quote Originally Posted by peat moss View Post
    Ya well the nice thing is you can run multiple browsers and then pick your poison . If you need IE to browse you know Fox has a plugin called IE tab .

    As I said I don't mean to discourage you from trying a different browser but found Opera lacking in many ways , plug ins and support were few and far between .
    Yeah, I've found the lack of plugins pretty much a deal breaker at this point.

    I've also got the IETab but it only displays web pages like IE would. There won't be any increase in browsing speed as you're still using FF.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    mbucari1's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35BT Rep +35
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,871
    Quote Originally Posted by Skiz View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by peat moss View Post
    Ya well the nice thing is you can run multiple browsers and then pick your poison . If you need IE to browse you know Fox has a plugin called IE tab .

    As I said I don't mean to discourage you from trying a different browser but found Opera lacking in many ways , plug ins and support were few and far between .
    Yeah, I've found the lack of plugins pretty much a deal breaker at this point.

    I've also got the IETab but it only displays web pages like IE would. There won't be any increase in browsing speed as you're still using FF.
    Not true about IETab. It opens an ie window in the firefox tab so it actually IS IE. Notice that the context menus are IE as well.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •