Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Router, Let Me Know If This Will Be Ok,

  1. #1
    OK, Straight to the point, (---This Is The Router)---
    • Connecting 2 PC's
    • Windows 98SE...&
    • ..Windows XP Pro
    I have..
    • BT Broadband ADSL
    What I want to know is..
    • Will I still need a ADSL modem?
    • This is going to be required to be connected via network cable..patch5?
    If you know, or you have this one, please give as much info as you can.
    I was going to get a different one, but cant seem to find it now, so im researching this. HERE



  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Regular Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    935
    Hi. i buy my pc and stuff from ebuyer too! rite. yeah it looks like you wont need a adsl modem. i would say all you need to get extra is some cat5/5e cable

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Yes, you still need an adsl modem, and it needs to have ethernet connection. The cable for connecting the modem to the router (and everything else for that matter) is indeed cat5. There is 1 network cable provided with the router (3m in length), so you just need 2 more cat5 cables to connect everything together.

    Depending on the distances involved, you may be able to use the supplied cable to connect 1 of the pc's, in which case you should get a short patch cable to connect the modem to the router, but not less than 0.5m as this is the minimum permitted cable length.

    Remember, if in doubt, get a cable that is slightly longer than necessary. You can always coil up the excess, but you can't stretch a cable which is too short.

    Edit: look at the interfaces - there is no adsl interface here, only ethernet, which indicates that you definitely need an adsl modem.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Regular Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    935
    lynx thanks for correcting me! sorry for my misguided information

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Dam, I got one ADSL USB Router. If you got the time, can you have a look for a Router, that will only use Networdk Patch 5 cable to connect it to. I think I need a Switch is it?



  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    you cant connect the usb modem to a cat 5 router.

    here this is a modem/router/switch combo that and a bit of cat 5 is all you need.

    edit: there is also a cheaper router here but it does not give much details about the product.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    Hmm.. you want to find a way to keep this cool since it has stay constantly stay on without standby.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Actually, that second one 4play found is actually a modem/router, so you shouldn't need anything else besides netword cables (and it even has a usb connection for one of your pc's).

    I don't know anything about it, but it has 5 star reviews so it can't be too bad. Excellent price too.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Originally posted by 4play@28 September 2003 - 00:41
    you cant connect the usb modem to a cat 5 router.

    here this is a modem/router/switch combo that and a bit of cat 5 is all you need.

    edit: there is also a cheaper router here but it does not give much details about the product.
    Thats the one you got is it not? How did you find it, I bene looking for ages. Nice one. Ordering now.



  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Benno's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Birmingham
    Age
    32
    Posts
    2,305
    Seems the question from wizz has been abswered so i'll go ahead and hijack this thread.

    Could someone tell me whats the difference between this two routers except that one s a modem too?

    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/in...oduct_uid=35433

    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/in...oduct_uid=34058


    Or does alone the fact that one is also a router make the price difference?

    You Better Keep In Mind That I Can Read Between The Lines


    Never argue with an idiot, they drag you down to there level and beat you with experience!!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •