Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: Scan My Ports

  1. #1
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350
    anyone no how to (remotely) scan your comp to see which ports are open???

    and i want to scan em all (or at least till i can find ONE so i can set up K-lite on my school comp*)







    *plz dun start bs-in bout that i shouldnt do that................
    great FTP site for awesome quality video clips
    yeah, you have to sign up, but its worth it

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    376
    just get a scanner and put in your own ip

    EDIT: if you like i can provide a link to a good fast free scanner

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    BANNED
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5,605
    Originally posted by Storm@29 September 2003 - 09:23
    anyone no how to (remotely) scan your comp to see which ports are open???

    and i want to scan em all (or at least till i can find ONE so i can set up K-lite on my school comp*)







    *plz dun start bs-in bout that i shouldnt do that................
    don't invite people to do that boss get a program like aa tools to do that or go here and do it if you have a firewall run security check first most will tell you if they are open

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    i luv doing these firewall tests, sygate is the best....



    How sad am i

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Izagaia's Avatar Her angel of darkness
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Beyond midnight, near you, in darkness...
    Age
    46
    Posts
    709
    Originally posted by shn@29 September 2003 - 17:58
    https://grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2
    After trying out a majority of those test for myself;


    "izzy say that he very happy with his system"

    <hugs his NIS Pro2003>

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    i jus use Zone Alarm Pro.. works for me

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    376
    Originally posted by Wolfmight@30 September 2003 - 00:51
    i jus use Zone Alarm Pro.. works for me
    could you please explain how you scan a comp or a network with Zonealarm... i have always just used plain old port scanners

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    well ya are talkin bout firewalls also.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Originally posted by exeus+29 September 2003 - 18:56--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (exeus &#064; 29 September 2003 - 18:56)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteBegin-Wolfmight@30 September 2003 - 00:51
    i jus use Zone Alarm Pro.. works for me
    could you please explain how you scan a comp or a network with Zonealarm... i have always just used plain old port scanners[/b][/quote]
    Most people use that zone alarm crap because they dont know how to use port scanners.

    Port scanners are about as extensive and efficient as your gonna get. If you know a little about networking and what ports should and shouldnt be open then stick with port scanners.

    I have a router and that just about locks everything down unless I say otherwise. Plus with a router you dont get those annoying messages about something trying to access the network like those software filewalls do.

    I havent ran a port scan (on my own boxes that is ) in a while. I used to run them all the time but when you have a router its a waste of time scanning your ports.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •