Thread: Newbie and I have Questions, Would Really Appreciate Answers

Hey Everybody,

I'm just starting to learn about newsgroups and whether I want to start using them. Basically this started because there's a program that I'm trying to find but just can't seem to find it anywhere, it's the mac version of it.

Here are a few of my questions:

1. My understanding of usenet is a bit weak, how come people go to premium providers like Giganews when all you need to do is download a program and search usenet?
    2. Better to Use a Mac or a PC to navigate through? Does it matter? I just got my mac today
    3. What program would you reccomend? I'm thinking either newsbin or news leecher for PC or if I use MAC - Unison or Hogwash?

Thanks for taking the time to read my post and thanks in advance for the answers!

I'm looking for Cubase 5 for Mac (if you do a search the program should be a few gigs) <-- I don't even know if a cracked version is on usenet but I'm willing to pay for giganews and everything else but I just want to gain understanding in general about newsgroups.

Thanks!

2. Newsgroups   -   #2
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    1. Because that is not all you need to do. In order to utilize Usenet (newsgroups), you will need two basic things: A client and a server. The news server (or "provider" as you call it) is what your client will download from. Without a server such as Giganews, Astraweb, Newshosting, etc... you will not be able to download anything. A few ISPs still offer a limited number of free newsgroups, but that has dwindled significantly in the past year or so. This website keeps a fairly current listing of those that do.