Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: blue screen!

  1. #1
    dwigt BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    42
    okay, so i suddenly got a blue screen just 5 minutes ago. i got scared like hell cause i thought it was going to erase all my data. i just reformatted my computer 2 days ago and just finished restoring all my files from my external hd so i CAN'T afford to do that again. this is the first time i ever got a bluescreen so i don't know what to do! will it appear again? how do i prevent it from appearing again? WHAT IS IT?

    i'm running Vista Home Premium. 1GB RAM. 46GB/120GB disk space. processor is Intel T208 @ 1.73ghz 1.73ghz. 32 bit os.

    today i:
    installed windows updates (22 updates).
    installed a bunch of programs (mediamonkey, itunes, nero, YM, AIM, dbpoweramp)

    i restarted my computer after installing all of those.

    my last state was:
    running MediaMonkey (song was playing)
    running i think about 5 tabs in Mozilla (i was tweeting)
    running utorrent (1 file downloading: Photoshop CS3)
    running yahoo messenger
    running ESET NOD32 scan
    4 folders open

    then i got the blue screen.

    when i turned on my computer, it was fine as if nothing happened. all my programs are still in their default settings. i just got the MSwindows error message:

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 1033

    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: 1000007e
    BCP1: C0000005
    BCP2: 829CD0A6
    BCP3: 85971B74
    BCP4: 85971870
    OS Version: 6_0_6000
    Service Pack: 0_0
    Product: 768_1

    Files that help describe the problem:
    C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini091009-01.dmp
    C:\Users\Biba\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-61386-0.sysdata.xml
    C:\Users\Biba\AppData\Local\Temp\WER6A36.tmp.version.txt

    Read our privacy statement:
    http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?link...3&clcid=0x0409

    This is what WER6A36.tmp.version.txt had to say:
    Windows NT Version 6.0 Build: 6000
    Product (0x3): Windows Vista (TM) Home Premium
    Edition: HomePremium
    BuildString: 6000.16830.x86fre.vista_gdr.090302-1506
    Flavor: Multiprocessor Free
    Architecture: X86
    LCID: 1033

    the sysdata.xml is too long to post here.


    any solutions?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    dadelor's Avatar Supercalafragalistic BT Rep: +4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    WonderLand
    Posts
    297
    Im guessing you didnt happen to catch the bluescreen error message did you?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,632
    ^Ditto.

    The BSOD will always give you a stop code. It usually looks something like "0x00000084".



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    0x1000000a or 0xa is usually a driver issue , but it happened once ? Your problem may have been related to Windows Update what a gong show that is .


    I wouldn't sweat over it unless it happens repeatably and yes the error code is very helpful , I repaired a driver issue with that and Google .

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    dwigt BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    42
    will it fix my problem if i reformat it again?

    or is this a BIOS thing?
    Last edited by biba; 09-10-2009 at 03:03 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,632
    Quote Originally Posted by biba View Post
    will it fix my problem if i reformat it again?

    or is this a BIOS thing?
    Once again, you haven't posted what the stop code or error code was, so we still have no idea what the problem is, nor how to fix it.

    You'll need to post the necessary information before anyone will be able to help you.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    dwigt BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    42
    fixed it. it was NOD32 that gave me the BSOD. i did a little research on all the programs i've previously downloaded and apparantly NOD32 really does have some issues. i'm switching back to avast.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Quote Originally Posted by biba View Post
    fixed it. it was NOD32 that gave me the BSOD. i did a little research on all the programs i've previously downloaded and apparantly NOD32 really does have some issues. i'm switching back to avast.
    Ok it was a driver issue then ? Eset loads drivers within the firewall I believe . Kinda like throwing the baby out with the bathwater me thinks .

    You sound like a smart poster , you going to let a little thing like a BSOD error get the better of you ?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    darkstate01's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    manc
    Posts
    488
    I used to be a big fan of avast till i got infected with a DNS redirect trojan
    Avast didn't see it and so that was my hint to change,Try avira i've used it for a year and all is well so far
    What the DNS trojan was doing was sending all my dns queries to a server that was hunting down any and all passwords on my PC,good job i have a little bit of a brain cell somewhere in my void between my ears as these monkeys would have cleared my world out..all of 2.50p
    PAIN is just WEAKNESS leaving the body

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    dwigt BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    42
    that's why i always i have both an anti-virus and a spyware remover.

    i liked NOD32 while it lasted. it uses less resources than any other anti-virus out there and it detects every bit of a byte of incoming malware. if anyone can help me how to run it without any BSOD popping up every fucking 5 minutes then i'd be really really happy.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •